DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #221  
Old 06-14-2011, 01:56 PM
kurbanic kurbanic is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
kurbanic is on a distinguished road
Default How to use the MOPAR Integrated Brake Controller

I just had the MOPAR controller installed in my 2010 Dodge Ram but didn't get any instructions on how to use it.

I figure that the "power" rating between 1-10 sets the intensity of trailer brakes applied. But what is the Slide lever on the right hand side of the controller. What does it do?
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 06-14-2011, 02:16 PM
Wildcat's Avatar
Wildcat Wildcat is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kansas City
Age: 35
Posts: 816
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram QC 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Mineral Gray Metallic
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:166
Wildcat has a spectacular aura aboutWildcat has a spectacular aura about
Default

If it is like all other trailer brake controllers, you can slide that to lock up the brakes on the trailer manually.
__________________
Cobra CB, Dual antennas, Dodge molded splash guards, Tekonsha P2 brake controller, Weatherguard tool box, AirLift 1000 helpers springs, Line-X bedliner, B-Pillar tape removed, 35% tint front windows.
http://i842.photobucket.com/albums/zz347/kcwildcat1/Wildcatsig.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 06-14-2011, 07:11 PM
DirtRider's Avatar
DirtRider DirtRider is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Diamond Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
DirtRider is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurbanic View Post
I just had the MOPAR controller installed in my 2010 Dodge Ram but didn't get any instructions on how to use it.

I figure that the "power" rating between 1-10 sets the intensity of trailer brakes applied. But what is the Slide lever on the right hand side of the controller. What does it do?
If it's the original controller, it let's you brake the trailer manually by pinching the two sliders together.
Also, if installed right, you should have an additional display on the dashboard showing you the braking power applied and / or alarm if the cable gets disconnected.

The settings +/- are to adjust the braking strength depending on your trailer weight and it's brakes condition or quality.

BJ
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 07-09-2011, 12:52 AM
tooldad tooldad is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: st louis area
Age: 40
Posts: 24
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Ram 2500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
tooldad is on a distinguished road
Default

Dumb question, but has anyone tried to hardwire a factory controller to the plugs for the aftermarket controller? I have an 06 and wonder if I can "modify" it like that
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 07-11-2011, 08:21 AM
latitud's Avatar
latitud latitud is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southwest VA
Age: 43
Posts: 563
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Deep Water Pearl
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
latitud will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Also, if installed right, you should have an additional display on the dashboard showing you the braking power applied and / or alarm if the cable gets disconnected.
It will only display if you have the sales code added and the computer flashed. Doesn't really have anything to so with being installed correctly. The controller will work fine without the flash.
__________________
2010 Dodge Ram, 5.7 Hemi, Crew Cab
Reply With Quote
  #226  
Old 08-04-2011, 06:56 PM
fireks09 fireks09 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Columbia sc
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: quad
Color: grey
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fireks09 is on a distinguished road
Default

ken99
i have a 2010 ram 1500 like everyone else.Only 1 connector. i read your thread on how to hard wire the oem controller, but im not clear on where to tie in.I know what wires i need, i see where the wires are spliced together, 1 comes from fire wall to splice, then 1 wire goes up towards dash and the other goes towards speedometer. Now where do i splice in at? the wire from firewall, the wire that goes up to dash or wire that goes towards speedometer.
Any help would be appreciated. This has been a big headache trying to fiqure this out.
thanks Kevin
fireks09@aol.com
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 02-02-2013, 06:32 PM
howln's Avatar
howln howln is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: ST. Marys City, MD
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Sport Quad 4x4
Color: Dark Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:15
howln is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cormacs View Post
I will tell you in about a week if it works. I have ordered the parts but the only problem is they are on back order. I am a mechanic at a dodge dealership and my parts guy said he wouldn't have an issue returning them if it didn't work. I looked under my dash and both connectors are there and waiting to be plugged into it. The only problem I can foresee is the trailer brake controller obviously communicates over the bus since it uses inputs such as ESP from the ABS module and also has outputs to the cluster. What I have experienced in the past when I have done something like this is the network doesn't like it when you just add modules since that module is not in the build. So what I'm gonna do is plug it in and see if the network will just adopt the new module and start useing it. But if that doesn't work I'm gonna call me dealer service rep and pleed with him to add the trailer brake control module sales code to the build. I will keep you informed when the parts come in. The module is cheap it is only like $120 plus like $15 for the trim panel. If it works that is cheap for an inertia style brake controller. Plus if it works properly it uses ESP events to dictate the power to send to the trailer.
Cormacs, read through the whole post. I just purchased a 2013 Ram Quad Sport without the brake controller. Need to add one but really don't want another after market mainly due to mounting location. Will these part #'s work? Does it use the controller location in the console? Thanks
__________________
"Dream Like You'll Live Forever; Live Like You'll Die Tomorrow" James Dean
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 05-05-2013, 02:14 PM
09dodgeram 09dodgeram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
09dodgeram is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a 2009 dodge ram 1500 and I want to add the oem trailer brake controller and I discovered that I have 3 plugs, a blue one a gray one and another green one. I was wondering if I have the right set up for the oem brake controller. Can anybody tell me if its the right set up?
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 05-05-2013, 02:16 PM
Yotaman96 Yotaman96 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Portland, TN
Age: 34
Posts: 30
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Yotaman96 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 09dodgeram View Post
I have a 2009 dodge ram 1500 and I want to add the oem trailer brake controller and I discovered that I have 3 plugs, a blue one a gray one and another green one. I was wondering if I have the right set up for the oem brake controller. Can anybody tell me if its the right set up?
The 09 is set up differently and you can't add the OE brake controller. You'll have to go aftermarket.
__________________
2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4x4 Sport
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 05-05-2013, 02:21 PM
09dodgeram 09dodgeram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Houston
Posts: 2
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
09dodgeram is on a distinguished road
Default

Well that sux. Does anybody know whats the green plug and the gray one for? I have used after market brake controller and it plugs right up in the blue plug with no problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum