Hardwiring my Radar Detector - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:58 AM
madhatr02's Avatar
madhatr02 madhatr02 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Age: 39
Posts: 535
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram Rebel 4x4
Color: Black
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:145
madhatr02 will become famous soon enoughmadhatr02 will become famous soon enough
Default Hardwiring my Radar Detector

Ok I have a radar detector that I pulled out of my F-250. In it I had the upfitter switches so I just hardwired it into those switches.

On my 2013 I am trying to find an easy wire to tap into so I can hook it back up. I have done tons of mods to my trucks and quite frankly, electrical more specifically wiring scares the crap out of me even though I have done it and understand the basic concepts. I am just tired of using the plug it just clutters up my truck.

These trucks have the super small fuses so I cannot find a fuse tap that will work so it will have to be a wire that is hot only when the truck is on.

Any ideas or something simple I am missing I would appreciate it.
__________________
Semper Fi,
Kevin

2016 Dodge Rebel
aka Project Black Sheep
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-15-2013, 09:20 AM
012RAMbo's Avatar
012RAMbo 012RAMbo is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Monroe, La
Age: 30
Posts: 461
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 CC
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:264
012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough012RAMbo is a jewel in the rough
Default

I think I have seen some guys use the power coming from the rear view mirror. Not sure if it is switched power or what color it is.. Srry.. I do know if you have the crew or quad cab, the rear cig lighter in the console is only powered by the key, and the back of the console just pops off easily, but that would be a long way to fish some wire.. Maybe somebody else knows of an easier wire that's closer though.
__________________
Cabin Air Filter -Debadged -14" Magnaflow -Mopar T Grip Shifter -Foxbox w/ 10" Type Rs -B Pillar tape removed -Tint matched - Rear level - 22'' SRT-10 reps on 305/45/22 nitto 420s -AMP Power Steps - Custom retro headlights
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-15-2013, 08:52 PM
steveschaedel's Avatar
steveschaedel steveschaedel is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Arizona
Age: 48
Posts: 186
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Power Wagon
Color: White
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:67
steveschaedel will become famous soon enough
Default

I did a write up on the hard wire into the rearview

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread....radar+detector

2012 but the wiring should be the same if you have a uconnect rear view.
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old 05-16-2013, 08:48 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 60
Posts: 959
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 7
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

You can tap into any of the power plugs in the center console that has a key symbol on them (already fused circuit). Your radar detector uses very little power so you don't need to wire it to the fuse panel. Just make sure you get the positive and negative wires correct.
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2013, 04:10 AM
madhatr02's Avatar
madhatr02 madhatr02 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Texas
Age: 39
Posts: 535
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2016 Ram Rebel 4x4
Color: Black
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:145
madhatr02 will become famous soon enoughmadhatr02 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveschaedel View Post
I did a write up on the hard wire into the rearview

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread....radar+detector

2012 but the wiring should be the same if you have a uconnect rear view.
Thanks I will have to try this. I have an Escort detector as well with the hardwire kit.
__________________
Semper Fi,
Kevin

2016 Dodge Rebel
aka Project Black Sheep
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors