DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 3rd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 09-09-2013, 09:53 PM
CdnoilRAM's Avatar
CdnoilRAM CdnoilRAM is offline
I push the skinny pedal


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Calgary, AB, CA
Age: 31
Posts: 17,277
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Blown 349 Hemi
Trim Level: Sport - Modified
Color: Brilliant Black/Snake Skin Green
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 20
Rep:3277
CdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond reputeCdnoilRAM has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Where are you pulling your ignition-on wire from?
__________________
Sponsored by Bully's Performance
Green Mamba '09 Ram 1500 QCRB 4x4 Sport - dropped, blown, and bottle fed
Kurtis
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-10-2013, 08:46 AM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Nevermind, disregard my last post- apparently when I was putting everything together, my negative wire on my battery wasn't quite tight, so it was just loose enough to keep it from starting- apparently when I sprayed battery saver on it a couple months ago, it made the terminal slippery and when I put things back together, it hit a "dead spot". Cleaned the terminal and connector off, things are now resolved and everything is working great! I should have a little step-by-step write up before the end of the day
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn

Last edited by ff6cav; 09-10-2013 at 08:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-10-2013, 09:36 AM
ff6cav's Avatar
ff6cav ff6cav is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Biglerville, PA
Age: 24
Posts: 93
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:104
ff6cav will become famous soon enoughff6cav will become famous soon enough
Default

Here's my step-by-step write up:

Supplies:
Fuse Box
Inline Fuse (30A)
40A relay
2 spools 10ga wire (red and black)
Various lengths of 14-16ga wire
Various wire connectors
Accessory switches

I started out by finding a suitable spot to mount the fuse block and relay- found a nice spot behind my parking brake pedal. Then commenced to disconnect the various wires I had running through the firewall to the battery


My "garage", aka the firehouse:


After disconnecting the old wires, ran my 10ga wires though the firewall, attaching the inline fuse at the battery. Then I mounted the fuse block and relay under the dash with screws.

After this, I removed the dash from around the radio, and removed the black bezel piece that has the rear window control- 4 screws held it in place from the rear


Also found a suitable place to run my wires from the fuse block under the dash


Ran 14ga wire from the relay, through the dash for my master switch. Then drilled holes in the bezel and mounted my switches

It's not perfect, but it works for me

I only have 1 accessory (emergency response dash lights) that I'm wiring in right now, but I went ahead and grounded all the switches. I thought about running all my wiring from the switches and putting in plugs or connectors to make things easier later, but ran out of wire connectors (and got a fire call in the middle of the install ).


Re-installed the bezel in the dash, connected the switches, hooked up the relay/fuse block, and checked to make sure everything worked (which it did)

Re-installed the dash, and voila, it's done! (for now )


Here's a pic of the install (disregard the wires to the right, they're from accessories that I didn't want to hook up at the moment):
__________________
"Little Red Wagon"
2008 Ram 1500 Big Horn

Last edited by ff6cav; 09-10-2013 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-10-2013, 12:49 PM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 50
Posts: 11,526
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ff6cav View Post
Here's my step-by-step write up:

Supplies:
Fuse Box
Inline Fuse (30A)
40A relay
2 spools 10ga wire (red and black)
Various lengths of 14-16ga wire
Various wire connectors
Accessory switches

I started out by finding a suitable spot to mount the fuse block and relay- found a nice spot behind my parking brake pedal. Then commenced to disconnect the various wires I had running through the firewall to the battery


My "garage", aka the firehouse:


After disconnecting the old wires, ran my 10ga wires though the firewall, attaching the inline fuse at the battery. Then I mounted the fuse block and relay under the dash with screws.

After this, I removed the dash from around the radio, and removed the black bezel piece that has the rear window control- 4 screws held it in place from the rear


Also found a suitable place to run my wires from the fuse block under the dash


Ran 14ga wire from the relay, through the dash for my master switch. Then drilled holes in the bezel and mounted my switches

It's not perfect, but it works for me

I only have 1 accessory (emergency response dash lights) that I'm wiring in right now, but I went ahead and grounded all the switches. I thought about running all my wiring from the switches and putting in plugs or connectors to make things easier later, but ran out of wire connectors (and got a fire call in the middle of the install ).


Re-installed the bezel in the dash, connected the switches, hooked up the relay/fuse block, and checked to make sure everything worked (which it did)

Re-installed the dash, and voila, it's done! (for now )


Here's a pic of the install (disregard the wires to the right, they're from accessories that I didn't want to hook up at the moment):
Looks good. Excellent write up. Reps to you!
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-10-2013, 12:54 PM
Hermes1's Avatar
Hermes1 Hermes1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 60
Posts: 2,575
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 4WD Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 8
Rep:2549
Hermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond reputeHermes1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Nice thread and a very good idea. I do not have any electrical farkles on my truck, but if I did, I sure would add a fuse block as you have done. On my previous motorcycles, I added a fuse block for all the farkles I added on and it was well worth it.
__________________
Regards, Bruce
Sure you can take my truck, the door is un-locked and the keys are under my Akita.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum