DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 3rd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-10-2013, 10:59 PM
Lynxcub Lynxcub is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shelbyville, Indiana
Age: 44
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram Sport 1500 4.7
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Lynxcub is on a distinguished road
Default No Day Time Running Lights

Hi, Everyone!

I have a Black 2002 Dodge Ram Sport 1500 Quad Cab 4.7 4x4 (112k miles) and have a electrical issue at hand. I'm not an electrical guy.

I did notice I didn't have a ground wire from cab to bed. So, I went to autozone bought a ground cable and put it on and still nothing. I had a dealer do some body work recently, which they had to take the bed off and apparently never put this cable back on that they cutoff without my knowledge.

My issue is that I do not have any day time running lights in front or rear. I also don't know if it has any connection, but I noticed my adjustable brake pedal, license plate lights, backup lights, and 3rd brake light are not working. I did replace the 3rd brake light, backup lights and license plate lights, so unsure why they still don't work. Everything else works fine; brake lights, head lights, fog lights, dash lights, and all interior lights. Nothing else is acting strangely.

I have checked all fuses and found none blown and checked all relays by swapping them out with other known working ones and all is good there. I have checked all wire connections to ensure they were plugged up tightly and moved wires around while lights were on to see if they would start working even around the hitch encase the dealer's body shop messed those up. Still nothing. I also checked all ground wires that I could locate.

I have replaced the brake light circuit boards (both and one of the sockets had a slight burn to it), head light switch, and every bulb (including head lights) that I could think of even if they were good, which all were.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-11-2013, 01:38 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 49
Posts: 10,522
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

My first thought is to double check all your fuses, both sides, to make sure you don't have a blown fuse.
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2013, 12:44 AM
Lynxcub Lynxcub is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shelbyville, Indiana
Age: 44
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge Ram Sport 1500 4.7
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Lynxcub is on a distinguished road
Default

This evening I took the integrated power module off the side of my fuse box and it appears to be alright. I lifted the front control module up to ensure all wires were tight and in good shape. I did notice a wire going to one of the fuses has green corrosion in it. I guess my next step is to dismantle the front control module to see how much corrosion is inside of the FCM. I read somewhere that I could jump the relay with a wire and if taillights worked, then it is the FCM? Anyone know how to attempt this by running a wire to two of the prongs on the relay?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:13 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum