DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 09-13-2013, 07:29 PM
crabjoe crabjoe is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ceciltucky, MD
Posts: 888
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 3500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Maximum Steel Matallic
Rep Power: 0
Rep:62
crabjoe will become famous soon enough
Default

I say it's the hardware in the trucks... For whatever reason, probably price, the radios probably have a cheap signal decoder and/or junk antenna. That's probably why aftermarket systems and older units are do better....
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-13-2013, 07:55 PM
ramcfl ramcfl is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: ohio
Posts: 20
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013
Trim Level: sport
Color: gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ramcfl is on a distinguished road
Default

Im no expert but just to offer a different possibility, is the signal digital? If so, is it possible that it buffers the signal to ram (memory) and plays from there when it looses signal.? Maybe the memory is too small to buffer enough to get through signal losses. Just a guess.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-16-2013, 10:37 PM
RamFreak13's Avatar
RamFreak13 RamFreak13 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Utah
Age: 41
Posts: 39
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Bighorn
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RamFreak13 is on a distinguished road
Default

So Uconnect says it is SiriusXM problem, SiriusXM says it is hardware. When I cant get signal, XM says they can see my Radio and it has received a refresh signal. I don't know what to think at this point.
__________________
2013 Ram 1500 HEMI BigHorn quad cab silver 6speed 3.55AntiSpin
Rock River Arms Operator 2 Equipped.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-16-2013, 11:51 PM
Talon66 Talon66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Edmonton
Age: 32
Posts: 411
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:92
Talon66 will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm extremely disappointed in the signal quality of my 2013
__________________
2013 Ram 1500 CC Black
Factory: Hemi, 8spd, 4 Corner Air suspension, Rambox
Mods: 4500K HID headlights(55w) & Fogs(35w), Custom Dual Relay Harnesses, Tinted, Debadged, blacked out emblems, Stainless Works LT Headers, Magnaflow #12569, Kicker Soundgate, Diablo DCX - HF Tuned
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-17-2013, 09:04 PM
dodgeitri's Avatar
dodgeitri dodgeitri is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NJ
Age: 30
Posts: 43
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport Crew Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodgeitri is on a distinguished road
Default

Problems going to be they didn't build enough buffer into the unit, other units and portable units have a good amount of buffer so if you lose line of sight it can recover. This is just a coding issue, they should be able to resolve this with an update.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-17-2013, 09:12 PM
RamFreak13's Avatar
RamFreak13 RamFreak13 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Utah
Age: 41
Posts: 39
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Bighorn
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RamFreak13 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeitri View Post
Problems going to be they didn't build enough buffer into the unit, other units and portable units have a good amount of buffer so if you lose line of sight it can recover. This is just a coding issue, they should be able to resolve this with an update.
I have an issue where if I am in the city I get signal, "Not great but it works" if I leave the city I loose signal and never get it back till I go back to the city. "Salt lake"
I can be In completely open areas and no signal, I am at a loss on this one.
__________________
2013 Ram 1500 HEMI BigHorn quad cab silver 6speed 3.55AntiSpin
Rock River Arms Operator 2 Equipped.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-17-2013, 09:32 PM
dodgeitri's Avatar
dodgeitri dodgeitri is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NJ
Age: 30
Posts: 43
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport Crew Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
dodgeitri is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RamFreak13 View Post
I have an issue where if I am in the city I get signal, "Not great but it works" if I leave the city I loose signal and never get it back till I go back to the city. "Salt lake"
I can be In completely open areas and no signal, I am at a loss on this one.
They have repeaters in some city's so that's probably why it works in Salt Lake. Wonder if its related to the elevation.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-17-2013, 09:35 PM
RamFreak13's Avatar
RamFreak13 RamFreak13 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Utah
Age: 41
Posts: 39
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Bighorn
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
RamFreak13 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgeitri View Post
They have repeaters in some city's so that's probably why it works in Salt Lake. Wonder if its related to the elevation.

Hmm I never thought of that, what ever it is, it is driving me crazy.
I have had SAT before and never had a problem getting signal outside of the city. Hopefully the next update fixes this, not getting my hopes up to high though.
__________________
2013 Ram 1500 HEMI BigHorn quad cab silver 6speed 3.55AntiSpin
Rock River Arms Operator 2 Equipped.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-18-2013, 01:43 AM
Afterburner Afterburner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: southern California
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 2500 Outdoorsman
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Prairie Pearlcoat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Afterburner is on a distinguished road
Default

Folks you are truly looking at state of the art F. Place F in front of art. I added an Alpine with XM System to my '99 Dakota in 2002. I had that truck up until 2 months ago. In 2007 I bought an '07 SRT8 with the top-end Kicker Sirius system. There were 2 places, then 3, then 4 where the SRT8's system would "clip" signal on my drive to and from work. The additional two places were where new cell towers had been put up. The Alpine in the Dakota only clipped at one of those places, ever.

That's at least a 2-fold deprovement, factory "over" aftermarket, in just over 5 years!

But deprovement has indeed ceased, much like gorebullwarming.

My new 2013 2500 Outdoorsman only clips in the same places the Charger still does! Surely 6 long years with no further deprovement means we have arrived at the state of the art........
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-18-2013, 01:53 AM
rroberts6969 rroberts6969 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: phoenix
Age: 72
Posts: 106
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 ram
Trim Level: laramie
Color: silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rroberts6969 is on a distinguished road
Default

Well I live in Phoenix Az. with a 2013 8.4an and have no signal drops.My 3 year old so call high end car drops the signal EVERY TIME I go under any overpass,so go figure.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:34 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum