DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2013 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2013 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2013 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old 09-18-2013, 08:40 AM
13Laramie 13Laramie is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Laramie Crew Cab
Trim Level: Laramie Crew Cab
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
13Laramie is on a distinguished road
Default

I am by no means an expert on this but have been given the royal run around for 4 months so I know a little.

I had the same issues with my 2013 tundra and switched radios as a result to an aftermarket kenwood DNN-770HD with a "SiriusXM" tuner.

Same issues now with the ram. It cuts out all the time with even the littlest twig near the road. In our 2013 Grand Cherokee we never lose signal but that's because it operates off the Sirius platform vs the XM on the Ram and Tundra.

So the line of, " the are the same company and the same signal" is bull. I wouldn't care much if it cost $2/month or similar but for the prices they charge, it should just WORK.

My theory is that if I only get signal 65% of the time, I should only pay 65% of the bill. Obviously this is not going to work, but this issue is very frustrating because like other people said, no one owns up to it.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09-18-2013, 10:22 PM
kev12345 kev12345 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 285
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport 4x4
Color: White
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
kev12345 is on a distinguished road
Default

mine cuts out when i turn... i will not be renewing once the free year is up.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 09-19-2013, 06:57 PM
Oldfatman Oldfatman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Utica, PA
Age: 63
Posts: 10
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Prarie Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Oldfatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Same problem, been back to dealer twice. New firmware download helped it very little, but still cuts out, even when passing a cornfield.
I did discover when waxing my truck, I bumped the antennae and it moved. I wiggled it to what could only be described as the "center" position in it's mounting hole, and the reception has drastically improved. If that's the issue, they have to pull the headliner to gain access to the antennae! I believe the antennae and/or coax may have shorted out to the body. I suggest checking yours and see what happens
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09-25-2013, 05:47 PM
Socalgordon Socalgordon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastvale, CA
Posts: 340
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn Crew Cab
Color: Silver
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:122
Socalgordon will become famous soon enoughSocalgordon will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13Laramie View Post

Same issues now with the ram. It cuts out all the time with even the littlest twig near the road. In our 2013 Grand Cherokee we never lose signal but that's because it operates off the Sirius platform vs the XM on the Ram and Tundra.
Ummm... The Ram and Grand Cherokee has SirusXM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-26-2013, 09:45 PM
rustysfan's Avatar
rustysfan rustysfan is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: pa
Age: 63
Posts: 14
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram crew cab
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rustysfan is on a distinguished road
Default

I have an update, I called the Ram owners page contact and he told me, and I quote
"its because all the sats. are at the equator!!!" I all most choked on my water. I told this "clown" that in my work car I have a $49 unit and a magnetic ant. and almost never lose the signal. But my $42,000 truck does!!We need to band together on this and force them to fix it. If you agree send me a note at rustysfan@atlanticbb.net
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-12-2013, 07:12 AM
PlymGTX's Avatar
PlymGTX PlymGTX is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Long Horn
Color: Black/Gold
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
PlymGTX is on a distinguished road
Default

I am pretty darn frustrated with this radio. I too have the "drop out" issue and its very annoying. My last RAM never lost a signal, and both my Challengers have been excellent as well. I have been back to my dealer 3 times for a "flash" all with no success. Last night I had an upgrade that was supposedly the correct fix. Radio is worse today. Even the FM is bad. Reminds me of an old AM station. I absolutely LOVE this truck. But one would think if you spend this kind of $$, the High-end radio should work. I wish there could be a solution here. Be real interested to see how the 2014 models are..
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-12-2013, 07:32 AM
Big Al23's Avatar
Big Al23 Big Al23 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Bright Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:40
Big Al23 is on a distinguished road
Default

My wife's Grand Cherokee has a taller antenna than the one on my Ram and it gets better reception. Both vehicles are better than it was on our old 2005 Gr Cherokee.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-12-2013, 09:04 AM
gp2011ram gp2011ram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
gp2011ram is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlymGTX View Post
I am pretty darn frustrated with this radio. I too have the "drop out" issue and its very annoying. My last RAM never lost a signal, and both my Challengers have been excellent as well. I have been back to my dealer 3 times for a "flash" all with no success. Last night I had an upgrade that was supposedly the correct fix. Radio is worse today. Even the FM is bad. Reminds me of an old AM station. I absolutely LOVE this truck. But one would think if you spend this kind of $$, the High-end radio should work. I wish there could be a solution here. Be real interested to see how the 2014 models are..
2014 not great either. Had a 2011 and it was much better. Mine drops quite a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-12-2013, 10:38 AM
Rusty289's Avatar
Rusty289 Rusty289 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: New Brunswick Canada
Age: 43
Posts: 456
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:117
Rusty289 will become famous soon enoughRusty289 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socalgordon View Post
Ummm... The Ram and Grand Cherokee has SirusXM.
The Ram does indeed have Sirius XM, however just try calling the Sirius number and see what they tell you... Lol

They will tell you to call XM, they will say that they are the same company but they are still separate... Bla bla bla!

And if you're in Canada and call the Sirius or XM number in the USA then you are getting another number to call Sirius XM Canada..... Bla bla bla!

Long story short, the older Rams had a Sirius radio in them, the new ones have an XM version of the Sirius XM radio. The difference being that the signal and satellites are different. Anyone that had an XM radio in the past should be able to verify that they constantly dropped signal while the Sirius radios rarely did. My 09 Ram had Sirius and it worked great, the new one loses signal constantly and in places I never did before because the satellites are in different positions and there is only one for XM while Sirius has 2 up there all the time.

I think I posted some info on this a while back, I googled it and got a very interesting explanation as to how the 2 systems work.

Bottom line in I think Sirius XM is pushing the XM version of their equipment on everyone now, my guess is its somehow cheaper for them to operate or maintain. They are one messed up company to say the least, and its a shame because I love their programming but get so frustrated with the signal loss that its very unlikely I will renew when my free trial is over.

Also don't get Howard or Nascar now as part of the free trial, I called and they told me that its not included in the free trial and is part of their premium package which is another $5 a month. I am beyond annoyed with these morons!
__________________
If ya can't Dodge it, Ram it!!!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-18-2013, 11:25 AM
bobohio bobohio is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Loudonville, Ohio
Age: 50
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2015 dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: sport
Color: blue streak
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
bobohio is on a distinguished road
Default

same issues here...I had a portable sirius sportster in my 06 jeep and rarely lost signal....I however lose signal regularly on my 13 ram 1500 crew cab....talked to both the dealer and xm and neither of them have solutions!! I will not renew when my free trial is up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum