DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #321  
Old 10-31-2013, 03:50 PM
BigSilver's Avatar
BigSilver BigSilver is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 45
Posts: 13
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: Metallic Silver
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BigSilver is on a distinguished road
Default

I am going to install the factory brake trailer module in my 2012/ 1500 Tradesman with the A plug (no B plug). I do not have the EVIC. I was wondering if I could hook up the B3 Terminal, Fused Ignition Run/Start Control Output, Circuit F943 and leave the B1 and B2 CAN C Bus terminals empty. My understanding is that the CAN Bus terminals are only necessary for EVIC display.
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 11-10-2013, 12:09 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Guys - My notes are summarized in the attached PDF file. My dealer didn't indicate this modification would cause problems, they simply insisted it could not be done. When I informed the parts dept that I had been able to make the controller work in my truck, they admitted Chrysler has issued TSB stating an adapter kit to retrofit the "B" harness would be available in late 2010. Until then I guess the "official" word is the factory controller cannot be made to work with these trucks.

Ken
ken99 nice write up but maybe i missed which wires off the WIN were can bus (+) and can bus (-) can you or someone post a pin out/ wiring diagram of the WIN that we are splicing into?
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 11-10-2013, 04:11 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

Nevermind found it. i also notices that the wires run from their to the main junction plug at the back of the dash so i'll be tapping in their as i don't want to tap in the the WIN sense i'm installing remote start and don't want the tech to see that.

NODE-WIRELESS IGNITION-WIN
Harness Family: IP
Harness Part Number: 68066208AB
Cavities: 12
Color: BLACK
Gender: Female
Part Description: INSULATOR
Repair Kit Part Number: 05102402AA
Seal: Un-Sealed
Engineering Name: Mod_Wireless_Ctrl_WIN
Connector No: D3915A
Available Views:
Location View





Pin Circuit Wire Color Gauge/Size Function
A1 A106 LB/RD 22 FUSED B(+)
A2 NO CONNECTION
A3 F20 PK/WT 22 IGNITION RUN/START CONTROL OUTPUT
A4 Z911 BK/LG 20 GROUND
A5 D52 WT/LG 22 CAN C (+)
A6 D51 WT/LB 22 CAN C (-)
A7 K321 BR/YL 22 BTSI UNLOCK CONTROL
A8 L51 WT 20 BRAKE LAMP SWITCH OUTPUT
A9 NO CONNECTION
A10 NO CONNECTION
A11 NO CONNECTION
A12 T824 YL/DB 22 TRS PARK SIGNAL
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 11-11-2013, 08:01 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSilver View Post
I am going to install the factory brake trailer module in my 2012/ 1500 Tradesman with the A plug (no B plug). I do not have the EVIC. I was wondering if I could hook up the B3 Terminal, Fused Ignition Run/Start Control Output, Circuit F943 and leave the B1 and B2 CAN C Bus terminals empty. My understanding is that the CAN Bus terminals are only necessary for EVIC display.
I can confirm that if you give power to the (run/start pin) then it will work.
I just installed mine with connector A no connector b and it worked just fine. I later went to a junk yard and found a truck with one and took the pigtail. had the dealer activate the sales code along with my remote start. but yes it works with only the power wire attached Just splice into the pink wire with the light green stripe in the main dash harness that goes to the main 43 pin dash plug next to the brake pedal
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 11-11-2013, 10:35 PM
kevinhann kevinhann is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW Texas
Age: 30
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 ram 1500
Trim Level: slt
Color: black
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
kevinhann is on a distinguished road
Smile My ITBM install adding the second connector

I got my ITBM and the can bus harness pigtail from a junk yard. i didn't have the connector so i needed the pigtail. I noticed that some of y'all have been using the WIN module as a can bus source. I decided to use the main junction block cutting the wires and using non insulated crimp connectors and solder to create a good splice and heat shrink for the OEM look.









Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 11-13-2013, 07:23 PM
thedude thedude is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
thedude is on a distinguished road
Default

looks great...except the tan bezel. lol
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 11-13-2013, 07:24 PM
thedude thedude is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
thedude is on a distinguished road
Default

I had the local Al & Ed's wire mine up. Thanks for the great instructions on this site.
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 11-16-2013, 10:44 AM
Power Wagon's Avatar
Power Wagon Power Wagon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunshine State
Age: 62
Posts: 42
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Quad Cab 4x4
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:45
Power Wagon is on a distinguished road
Default

.

Sorry if this has already been covered in here, but I didn't notice it and this thread seemed like the best place to ask. This is a pic of a 2013 RAM brake controller and it has a new location in the dash. I'm wondering if a controller for the model year ending 2012 will still work in a 2013 (since the dashboards haven't changed) ?

Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 11-16-2013, 07:20 PM
BigSilver's Avatar
BigSilver BigSilver is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Age: 45
Posts: 13
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: Metallic Silver
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BigSilver is on a distinguished road
Default

kevinhann, thanks for the response. Because of your post I decided to go and hunt the pick-a-parts to see what I could find. I was able to find and buy an ITBM and gray/black bezel out of a 2011 3500 dually for $65. Bought three #8 x 5/8 trim panel screws from the hardware store to secure bezel to module and to secure rear of module to dash support . Everything came apart just like Netman66 post described. Installed ITBM and bezel plugged in the large "A" plug (no "B" plug, just spliced into the pink/greenwire and hooked up to B3). Hooked up to my neighbors 21ft Jayco travel trailer and went on a 20 mile test run. Worked great w/o the CAN + - wires. So if you have an ST or Tradesman w/o EVIC there is no reason to worry about the CAN + - wires.

Last edited by BigSilver; 11-16-2013 at 07:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 11-17-2013, 09:06 AM
Power Wagon's Avatar
Power Wagon Power Wagon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunshine State
Age: 62
Posts: 42
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram
Trim Level: Quad Cab 4x4
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:45
Power Wagon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsxrken View Post
I just got back from 6hours of towing my 3200lb Mach 1 on a 1000lb open trailer behind my 2011 Hemi Sport. I nailed the tongue weight and had no bounce or sway on the entire trip; basically I didn't know it was even back there.

The brake controller worked flawlessly. With the 7-plug connector hooked up, the display reads 5.0 all the time, unless I am using the brakes. Then proportionate to how hard I am applying the brakes, it reads 10, 20, 30, etc. I had one incident on a busy road where I was probably lucky to have it- I was in traffic and something caught my eye to the right... when I looked back, the car in front of me was stopping (for no reason I will ever be aware of), and I really did have to slam on the brakes. It could have been a different situation without the trailer being braked, and immediately, and proportionally.

I tested the manual lever on the highway and it sure does brake the trailer- you would only use this if you were looking to arrest some trailer sway by braking the trailer without using the Ram's brakes. But it's a good test to see that it all works, and that it won't throw the trailer into a sway on it's own.

I don't see why I would pay even $5 for the EVIC flash. I'm not even clear on what it get you- a row in the message center that I always leave off except to check tire pressure and temps?
.

With regard to your last paragraph, the EVIC flash, my '13 RAM manual says the EVIC would be used in conjunction with the brake controller to obtain 4 different options : light electric; heavy electric; light electric over hydraulic; heavy electric over hydraulic. So if the EVIC is not flashed, would the system be in "light electric" by default ?

I see your post is a little dated, but I was wondering the same thing about flashing the EVIC. I'm curious if you ever found the answer ?

.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:43 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum