DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 12-08-2013, 08:10 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast FL View Post
I haven't put the mirror back on yet. I kind of figure I have to bring it by the dealership at this point, so why put it back on.
I am not sure exactly what function the wire serves for the mirror. My mirror has the Assist and the 911 buttons in it, and is self dimming. The overhead lights, rear window, and garage door openers all work - as is.
That's just it - EVERYTHING seems to work with the exception of that one wire.

Maybe it was just a spare 12V+, if you put the mirror back and check if all is still working, you might just need to find another +12 to tap into. Anyways, keep us posted on what you find.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-08-2013, 08:13 PM
Fast FL Fast FL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
Fast FL is on a distinguished road
Default

I don't think that it is a spare per se. It is the only line that turns off, when the ignition/accessory is in turned off. That's why I used that line - this way, the power goes out on the radar detector when you turn off the car.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-09-2013, 12:47 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 49
Posts: 11,024
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast FL View Post
I don't think that it is a spare per se. It is the only line that turns off, when the ignition/accessory is in turned off. That's why I used that line - this way, the power goes out on the radar detector when you turn off the car.
Great in theory. Just gotta watch out for those hot wires touching the ground wires. Or... or... turn the power off so you won't have that problem.
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-09-2013, 09:30 AM
Fast FL Fast FL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
Fast FL is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RogerRamJet View Post
Great in theory. Just gotta watch out for those hot wires touching the ground wires. Or... or... turn the power off so you won't have that problem.
Yeah - I know. Like I said before, this is the 4th one that I have done (1st truck) and I never had an issue.

Can't find a "punch myself in the face" animation on here but that's what I feel like doing. So annoyed that I screwed this up!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-09-2013, 09:32 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast FL View Post
I don't think that it is a spare per se. It is the only line that turns off, when the ignition/accessory is in turned off. That's why I used that line - this way, the power goes out on the radar detector when you turn off the car.
OK well if you can run that wire down the pillar driver side to the electrical inlet next to the brake pedal you will see a Large Blue wire and I think its lined red, this wire is (+ 12v) on run only I am presuming its a 30amp, you should be able to use that.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-09-2013, 09:56 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

EDIT: wire (PINK/ W yellow stripe)

This wire is for the SUNROOF

One thing that you did not mention is Sunroof? This one would not work with the key off.
I would check fuse F35 30 amp. And fuse F66 10 amp.
Wiring diagram I think it will be fuse F66 10 amp. that is blown.


https://techauthorityonlinedemo.extr...ew/classic.htm

SUNROOF/POWER TOP SYSTEM / Connector Details
Diagram
Connection (SP2229)

------------------------------------------------------------
OK, I would put everything back together at this point as Asur stated.

There is only one fuse box in the Ram.

The only thing I can think of is making sure your front head lighting is working correctly along with the movement of the dimming mirror.

If you find that everything works (all lights, accessories) than that would point me to the dreaded TIPM and a chip in it. Only the dealer can tell you about this one.

Keep us informed.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.


Last edited by gcscott; 12-09-2013 at 02:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-11-2013, 05:27 PM
Fast FL Fast FL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
Fast FL is on a distinguished road
Default

Greg - You nailed it!
I just logged back in to tell everyone that I found out what it was. I checked each fuse, one by one to be sure I didn't miss anything. Turns out I did - it was Fuse #66 - SunRoof! I don't have a sunroof in mine, but that's thepurpose of the wire, as Greg noted.
I'm pretty damn excited that it isn't anything worse!

Next question - Where the hell do you get fuses?! I have gone to Home Depot and an Auto Store and neither have the tiny little fuses that go in this truck. The Auto Store guy said he has never seen them before...ugh.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-11-2013, 08:43 PM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 14
Rep:4364
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gcscott View Post
EDIT: wire (PINK/ W yellow stripe)

This wire is for the SUNROOF

One thing that you did not mention is Sunroof? This one would not work with the key off.
I would check fuse F35 30 amp. And fuse F66 10 amp.
Wiring diagram I think it will be fuse F66 10 amp. that is blown.


https://techauthorityonlinedemo.extr...ew/classic.htm

SUNROOF/POWER TOP SYSTEM / Connector Details
Diagram
Connection (SP2229)

------------------------------------------------------------
OK, I would put everything back together at this point as Asur stated.

There is only one fuse box in the Ram.

The only thing I can think of is making sure your front head lighting is working correctly along with the movement of the dimming mirror.

If you find that everything works (all lights, accessories) than that would point me to the dreaded TIPM and a chip in it. Only the dealer can tell you about this one.

Keep us informed.

Greg

Reps for hitting that one on the nail, nice
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-12-2013, 04:18 AM
RogerRamJet's Avatar
RogerRamJet RogerRamJet is offline
God Bless Texas!




 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Mansfield, TX
Age: 49
Posts: 11,024
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Lonestar QC
Color: White
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:2929
RogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond reputeRogerRamJet has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast FL View Post
Greg - You nailed it!
I just logged back in to tell everyone that I found out what it was. I checked each fuse, one by one to be sure I didn't miss anything. Turns out I did - it was Fuse #66 - SunRoof! I don't have a sunroof in mine, but that's thepurpose of the wire, as Greg noted.
I'm pretty damn excited that it isn't anything worse!

Next question - Where the hell do you get fuses?! I have gone to Home Depot and an Auto Store and neither have the tiny little fuses that go in this truck. The Auto Store guy said he has never seen them before...ugh.
Voonderbar! Thanks for the update!
__________________
Life is hard... It's harder if you're stupid!
Today is a good day to be a RAM owner!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-12-2013, 07:25 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fast FL View Post
Next question - Where the hell do you get fuses?! I have gone to Home Depot and an Auto Store and neither have the tiny little fuses that go in this truck. The Auto Store guy said he has never seen them before...ugh.
Until you find a fuse at the store, you can use one of the extra ones in the fuse box that you don't have an accessory installed. Look around there are extra fuses in there.

Glad that fixed your problem.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
electrical issues, radar detector install, wiring harness

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:07 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum