DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-16-2014, 04:15 PM
misfit1981's Avatar
misfit1981 misfit1981 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 138
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Silver PS2
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:45
misfit1981 is on a distinguished road
Default CB Install

I'm sure there is already a thread on here but I can't find one with detail - which I need since I'm still learning this stuff...

I'd like to wire my CB (power cable has inline fuses on both the pos and neg) to the fuse box so that when the truck is turned off the cb can't draw power. I want it to only get power in ACC / Running, etc.

I understand how to route the wires through he firewall to the fuse box. Here are already a bunch if wires passing through. But, where exactly do the wires go into the fuse box itself, would I have to use an empty slot? If I use an empty slot do I need to use a fuse there - 20a? Or does the pos get spliced into the ACC wire (where ever that is) and the neg grounded on the frame?

See...I'm lost...

If someone has a guide or can point me to one, I'd appreciate it! Thanks in advance.
__________________
"To be prepared for war is one of the most effective means of preserving peace." -George Washington

Last edited by misfit1981; 01-16-2014 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-16-2014, 10:04 PM
misfit1981's Avatar
misfit1981 misfit1981 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!

 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 138
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Quad Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Silver PS2
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:45
misfit1981 is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm concerned because i don't want to do a "hack job". Problem is I don't know enough about electrical work to know an apple from an orange. Anyway I just came across this picture. Guy says "here is where I tapped the ignition hot" (image is of a '12 3500 Diesel)


Is something like this "ok" to do? Its probably not the correct spot for my cb to run on the ACC circuit. But, once I find out where the correct spot is, is this method ok to use?
__________________
"To be prepared for war is one of the most effective means of preserving peace." -George Washington

Last edited by misfit1981; 01-16-2014 at 10:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:40 PM
nickb nickb is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 78
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:17
nickb is on a distinguished road
Default

You will more than likely have to use some fuse that is already tied to ACC power like maybe the fuse for your radio. I would think a 5 or 10 amp fuse should carry the load of a CB since wattage on those is really low so they won't draw too much current.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2014, 11:42 PM
nickb nickb is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 78
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:17
nickb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickb View Post
You will more than likely have to use some fuse that is already tied to ACC power like maybe the fuse for your radio. I would think a 5 or 10 amp fuse should carry the load of a CB since wattage on those is really low so they won't draw too much current.
Just thought of this but one of your cig lighter plugs should be tied to your ignition since it is only hot when key is on might look that one up on your fuse guide and tap into that in your box. Just an idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:19 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum