DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > 4th Gen UConnect


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-11-2014, 05:45 PM
ksams1 ksams1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hamilton,Ohio
Age: 53
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Longhorn 3500
Trim Level: Longhorn
Color: Black/White Gold
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ksams1 is on a distinguished road
Default Radio Volume Level

Does anyone use the option to have your volume adjust with the speed of the truck. I have messed around with it but cant seem to get it to work. Thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-12-2014, 07:11 AM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 60
Posts: 806
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

It is a tough one to judge. I know my system works and the best way to maybe find out is to drive the vehicle using the "mute" button. You have to establish some sort of benchmark for yourself.

Sit in the vehicle with the windows closed, engine running, "mute" activated. Get a feel for the ambient noise around you. Unmute the radio and set the volume to your comfort level, again get a feel for this volume level.

Next set your radio to accommodate the speed increases and then go out and drive highway speeds but with the radio muted. Again get a feel for the ambient noise around you, then unmute the radio and hopefully you should be able to hear it at roughly the same volume as when you were parked.
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2014, 10:28 AM
gcscott's Avatar
gcscott gcscott is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: North of Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 56
Posts: 958
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram 1500 4X4 / 3.55 LSD
Trim Level: Outdoorsman Crew Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearl Coat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:1043
gcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud ofgcscott has much to be proud of
Default

I use the auto volume adjust set on #3 in the EVIC with the 8.4an radio.

Greg
__________________
MOD LIST:To many to list. I do all MODS and Installs myself.
View them here: http://www.ramforumz.com/member.php?u=66037
Every time I think I'm done with doing Mods something else catches my eye.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2014, 03:03 PM
ksams1 ksams1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hamilton,Ohio
Age: 53
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Longhorn 3500
Trim Level: Longhorn
Color: Black/White Gold
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ksams1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Greg, I guess im missing something. I didnt know there were settings for that in the EVIC. I only found settings on the radio. Ill have to look in the EVIC and see. The options on the radio are off,1,2,3. Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2014, 03:45 PM
Aggie86 Aggie86 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 217
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram R/T
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Aggie86 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have mine set on 1. It must work as I do not see a need to increase the volume of the radio manually as my speed and road noise increases. I have always liked this feature in a vehicle.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2014, 04:08 PM
movierunner's Avatar
movierunner movierunner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 QC
Trim Level: SXT
Color: white
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
movierunner is on a distinguished road
Default

On my Uconnect 5.0 it's in the AUDIO settings & have found #3 works best for me.
I don't have any settings for the radio in the EVIC
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2014, 04:40 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 19,026
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 20
Rep:2615
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

movierunner, do you have to do anything special to send & receive cell phone calls using your Uconnect 5.0 RA2 radio ?

Do you have radio & Uconnect buttons on your steering wheel ?

I am about to order a 2015 Ram 1500 & this is something that i have wondered about

I can't get anyone with a 2013 Ram that has either of the 8.4 screens & that had their free TRIAL period expire, to answer other questions about that Uconnect cell phone use, as far as it being FREE or whether it has to be paid for.
I don't want to pay for Aha, Pandora, Iheart, Slacker, Bing, or Yelp, just to have cell phone service
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2014, 05:41 PM
ksams1 ksams1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hamilton,Ohio
Age: 53
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram Longhorn 3500
Trim Level: Longhorn
Color: Black/White Gold
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ksams1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Okay, there are no settings in the EVIC, only in the radio. I have put it on the number 3 setting but havent been able to tell if its working. Thanks for the input people.....Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2014, 10:40 AM
movierunner's Avatar
movierunner movierunner is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 78
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 QC
Trim Level: SXT
Color: white
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
movierunner is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTyankee View Post
movierunner, do you have to do anything special to send & receive cell phone calls using your Uconnect 5.0 RA2 radio ?

Do you have radio & Uconnect buttons on your steering wheel ?

I am about to order a 2015 Ram 1500 & this is something that i have wondered about

I can't get anyone with a 2013 Ram that has either of the 8.4 screens & that had their free TRIAL period expire, to answer other questions about that Uconnect cell phone use, as far as it being FREE or whether it has to be paid for.
I don't want to pay for Aha, Pandora, Iheart, Slacker, Bing, or Yelp, just to have cell phone service
Nothing special, I have a Samsung Galaxy SIII. Just turn on Bluetooth in the radio & your phone to pair them. I also get incoming text messages and you can send one of about 12 pre set replies. I have a phone button on the steering wheel to take & make calls. Also a speach recognition button that I can use to change radio stations. Don't know anything about paying for Uconnect in Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2014, 10:54 AM
rcmpvet's Avatar
rcmpvet rcmpvet is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Ontario; Welland to be specific
Age: 60
Posts: 806
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black Gold Pearlcoat
Engine: 2013-20?? 220ci (3.6L) Pentastar 305hp 269lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:38
rcmpvet is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by movierunner View Post
Don't know anything about paying for Uconnect in Canada.
Not available in Canada, but we do have Red Rose Tea.
__________________
There Is No Such Thing As A Stupid Question: HOWEVER: Search Function is Your Friend
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum