DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2014 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2014 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2014 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-22-2013, 12:28 PM
kraftfahrer kraftfahrer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Age: 41
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
kraftfahrer is on a distinguished road
Default SD card not working (Uconnect)

Hi, my Uconnect does not recognize the SD card I put in the reader. It is a 64GB new class 10 card, and it has been written on by a Mac computer. The card itself works fine on the computer, but the Uconnect won't even notice it is in the slot.

Question is: do I need to format the card in some specific ways in order for the car to use it? Or is there a maximum size for the cards (say 32GB or something)?

If not, I am starting to fear it is broken. But the car is brand new. Had it for less than a week!

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-22-2013, 01:20 PM
crabjoe crabjoe is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ceciltucky, MD
Posts: 888
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 3500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Maximum Steel Matallic
Rep Power: 0
Rep:62
crabjoe will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm hearing max size is 32gb, so a repartition might allow it to work (two 32 gb partitions). Also the card must be in FAT32 format... Not sure if Macs can format in FAT32 without some addition software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2013, 02:49 PM
spp spp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Michigan
Age: 36
Posts: 2,754
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Jeep Wrangler
Trim Level: Sahara
Color: Steel Blue
Rep Power: 3
Rep:106
spp will become famous soon enoughspp will become famous soon enough
Default

I believe there is a 32GB limit. Looking for the full tech specs now.

Crabjoe, yes they can under Applications->Utilities->Disk Utility. I do it all the time.

Last edited by spp; 11-22-2013 at 02:50 PM. Reason: Add mac info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-22-2013, 04:41 PM
ctebell ctebell is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ctebell is on a distinguished road
Default

SPP info will be the best but here's another chain that was flowing last week on same subject. From this, your issue does appear to be the 64Gb card size.

http://www.ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=158414
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2013, 01:50 AM
Thunderhorse's Avatar
Thunderhorse Thunderhorse is offline
The Sound of Eight Hooves


 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Age: 24
Posts: 5,258
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram1500 4x4 8HP70 3.21LSD
Trim Level: Lone Star Quad Cab
Color: Bright White
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:547
Thunderhorse is a glorious beacon of lightThunderhorse is a glorious beacon of lightThunderhorse is a glorious beacon of lightThunderhorse is a glorious beacon of lightThunderhorse is a glorious beacon of lightThunderhorse is a glorious beacon of light
Default

The problem is you have an SDXC card, your truck can only read SDHC cards. SDHC cards only come in sizes up to 32gb, although SDXC cards are also made in 32gb and smaller sizes.
__________________

Thunderhorse-Built: 25 Feb 2013 Warren, Michigan; Bought: 28 May 2013
Huskyliner Weatherbeaters, door edge guards, Line-X bedliner, Kryptek Typhon Cordura seat covers w/ MOLLE panels (review), Console Vault (install/review), Bilstein 4600s (thread), BFG T/A KO2 LT275/60/20s (thread), Borla XR-1 (thread-removed), Matte black Plasti-dipped center console bezel, BT catch can, Corsa 14405 cat back.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2013, 09:02 AM
Monster5601 Monster5601 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Oakland, Michigan
Age: 64
Posts: 1,356
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 13 Laramie 1500, 15 Longhorn
Trim Level: Longhorn
Color: Western brown
Engine: 2013-20?? 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 370hp 800lb/ft (6-Speed Automatic)
Rep Power: 3
Rep:470
Monster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of lightMonster5601 is a glorious beacon of light
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderhorse View Post
The problem is you have an SDXC card, your truck can only read SDHC cards. SDHC cards only come in sizes up to 32gb, although SDXC cards are also made in 32gb and smaller sizes.
I've search high and low but could never find any authoritative published specification regarding the type/formatting of the SD card.

If anyone come across this information please share. BTW, Amazon is having on and off sales of 32 gig SD cards.
__________________
2013 RAM 1500 CC Hemi Laramie 4x4 in Cherry Red
2015 RAM 3500 CC CTD Longhorn 4x4 SRW in Western Brown
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2013, 10:21 AM
crabjoe crabjoe is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ceciltucky, MD
Posts: 888
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 3500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Maximum Steel Matallic
Rep Power: 0
Rep:62
crabjoe will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Monster5601 View Post
I've search high and low but could never find any authoritative published specification regarding the type/formatting of the SD card.

If anyone come across this information please share. BTW, Amazon is having on and off sales of 32 gig SD cards.
I'm using a Transcend 32GB MicroSDHC Class 10 card with an adapter. Works great and I can also use it in my smartphone, by not using the adapter. I got it on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2014, 03:00 PM
FR8Zilla's Avatar
FR8Zilla FR8Zilla is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Austin Tx
Age: 38
Posts: 65
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 Crew
Trim Level: lonestar lux,Tech.
Color: white
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:21
FR8Zilla is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a 16gb SDHD and it sees the card but errors out. It doesnt read media, mp3, photos or anything. Mine is a week old.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-10-2015, 05:40 PM
th3duke th3duke is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada, Quebec
Posts: 40
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 15 RAM 1500 ED
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Granite Grey
Engine: 2014-20?? 182.3ci (3.0L) L630DOHC V6 240hp 420lb/ft Eco-Diesel
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
th3duke is on a distinguished road
Default 64G Card FIX: Had to revive this thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderhorse View Post
The problem is you have an SDXC card, your truck can only read SDHC cards. SDHC cards only come in sizes up to 32gb, although SDXC cards are also made in 32gb and smaller sizes.

What Thunderhorse identified is true, but I have found a work around! I purchased a 64Gig card today, only to fall on this thread and wasn't going to give up until I found a way to make it work... It turns out its not only our trucks that are affected by this issue, so are many phones.

The fix is simple: format the card with a utility called FAT 32 Format by RidgeCorp. I can' take credit for this fix, I found it on youtube, but here's the link to the software you need.

http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/ind...at32format.htm

Just download this app, format your SD or SDXC card to FAT 32, and enjoy.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-10-2015, 07:37 PM
andyo5's Avatar
andyo5 andyo5 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Evansville, In.
Age: 65
Posts: 281
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: bright white
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:14
andyo5 is on a distinguished road
Default

I had a similar problem with a 64G memory stick I was usinf in the USB slot. It worked fine, until I had loaded alot of CDs onto it.
To solve this, I created a directory stricture of three folders. Each folder contains about 10 CDs. Now it works fine again. I may need to add another folder soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:04 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors