DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:16 PM
verytalonted verytalonted is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Engine: 1989-1993 360ci (5.9L) Cummins diesel I6 160hp 400lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
verytalonted is on a distinguished road
Default Trouble with aftermarket HU and Infinity system.

Ok I am resaerching this for my bro-in-law.

He has a 2002 Ram 1500 QC and has an aftermarket HU and has replace all the door speakers.

This truck did have the Infinity system.

His back door speakers work fine, but the front door speakers only play the bass from the audio, no treble at all.

How do we make it use the 4 door speakers and play treable and bass on all the 4 door speakers????

Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:33 PM
BAMA13NC BAMA13NC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BAMA13NC is on a distinguished road
Default

was the infinity amp removed from the system. The infinity amp runs the rears full range and runs the front doors mid bass/bass only. Check and see if the ifinty amp is in the system you will have to remove it from the system. You can also find the amp and run the front channel dash speakers to the tweeters on your speakers. I had to do that everytime someone had their jeep grand cherokee with the infinity system wanted to put coaxials in their front doors. I did audio installs for about 3 years and got real used to that problem. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2010, 05:50 PM
erm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Yup, it's the amp. Mine's gone. I upgraded recently to a Mopar accessory amp, made by Kicker to fit into the stock location. It's also plug compatible with the stock harness. No special adapters needed.

MOPAR part number is 77KICK18AB and I got it from an online authorized MOPAR parts dealer. It is NOT available directly from Kicker or any aftermarket audio shop that sells Kicker.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-24-2010, 10:34 AM
verytalonted verytalonted is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Engine: 1989-1993 360ci (5.9L) Cummins diesel I6 160hp 400lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
verytalonted is on a distinguished road
Default

As far as I know the Infinity amp is still in there.

All we have done is bought a aftermarket harness that plugs into stock on and wired the HU to that harness.

All we want is door speakers making hi-s and lows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-24-2010, 01:59 PM
BAMA13NC BAMA13NC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BAMA13NC is on a distinguished road
Default

you would have to run wires into the doors and actually cut the wires on the coaxial probably right next to the spade terminal (depends on what speakers you are replacing with) and the run those wires directly to the amp (if you do not want the dash speakers operating) or to the speakers in the dash. Then you would be able to test the impedance of the wiring. If it drops to low then you can run them in series and not over load the amps stability. Then you would have the dash playing your highs ( if you decide to utilize them also) and the doors playing mid bass and highs. It sounds alot harder than it actually is. But I have had real good experiences running them both ways, just depended on what the customer wanted and wanted to pay for. Hope this helps some I cant remember how hard it is to remove the dash piece to get to the speakers on the dash. If I can help anymore let me know
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-25-2010, 11:58 AM
verytalonted verytalonted is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Engine: 1989-1993 360ci (5.9L) Cummins diesel I6 160hp 400lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
verytalonted is on a distinguished road
Default

Do you have any pics/diagrams/etc. that would be a visual aid to you insructions?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-27-2010, 08:40 PM
BAMA13NC BAMA13NC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BAMA13NC is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by verytalonted View Post
Do you have any pics/diagrams/etc. that would be a visual aid to you insructions?
what portion do you want to do, the use of the amps or bypassing? either way should not be that hard.
Not to be nosey, where are u located. I am in Norfolk, Va if you are close I would be able to show u.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-28-2010, 10:12 AM
verytalonted verytalonted is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 30
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Engine: 1989-1993 360ci (5.9L) Cummins diesel I6 160hp 400lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
verytalonted is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMA13NC View Post
what portion do you want to do, the use of the amps or bypassing? either way should not be that hard.
Not to be nosey, where are u located. I am in Norfolk, Va if you are close I would be able to show u.

No I'm down in San Antonio, TX.

But basically we need to get the front door speakers to play all sounds, dont' really want to use the amp/filter as it just seems to complicate the whole thing.

I think we are gonna just run our on wires to the doors.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum