DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-30-2010, 12:35 AM
chrisisbored24 chrisisbored24 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
chrisisbored24 is on a distinguished road
Default question about the stock stereo

hey there all, just wondering if anyone knows if the stock non touch screen am/fm/sat/mp3 stereo has pre outs and a remote wire to hook up amps to? or am i gonna have to get a new deck to utilize my amps and subs.

its a 2010 1500 ST crew cab,

Thanks in advance for the help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:10 PM
chrisisbored24 chrisisbored24 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
chrisisbored24 is on a distinguished road
Default

anyone? no one has seen the back of the factory stereo? anyone know the best way to get the stereo out? i saw somewhere theres a couple screws hidden behind the "dodge" little tray deal at the top of the center dash and also behind the "RAM" piece below the stereo, anyone know how to get those out? i was tryin to pop em out but didnt want to break them pullin too hard. any help would be great
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:14 PM
CajunDodge's Avatar
CajunDodge CajunDodge is offline
Administrator




 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Morgan City, LA
Age: 38
Posts: 45,147
Gender: Female
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge RAM 1500
Trim Level: ST SWB Regular Cab
Color: Bright Silver Metallic
Engine: 2002-2008 226ci (3.7L) Magnum/PowerTech V6 215hp 235lb/ft
Rep Power: 36
Rep:4021
CajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond reputeCajunDodge has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Unfortunately, I don't have an answer for you, but hang in there, looks like a few more folks are coming online tonight, so hopefully someone can give you a hand here shortly.

- Cajun
__________________
CajunDodge - 2008 Dodge RAM 1500 ST SWB, Bright Silver Metallic, Magnum V-6

New to RamForumZ? Introduce yourself in the NEWBIE CHECKIN!
Need help? PM me or leave a message on my PROFILE PAGE!
Enjoy RamForumZ? Support your forum and become a SITE SUPPORTER today!
Like a member's post? Let 'em know and add some REP POINTS!
Please be sure you understand the Ram ForumZ RULES!

Who Dat Nation Super Bowl XLIV Champions - Geaux Saints!!!

ASE certified Automotive Parts Specialist
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-04-2010, 11:15 PM
chrisisbored24 chrisisbored24 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
chrisisbored24 is on a distinguished road
Default 2010 ram factory stereo

hey does anyone know if the factory stereo has preouts/remote wire? ive been tryin to find out if i am gonna need to replace it to put in my amp and subs.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-05-2010, 12:34 AM
erm
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

No idea. I haven't looked at the back of the current unit.

Post up a pic. Someone might be familiar with that head unit.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-05-2010, 11:12 AM
BAMA13NC BAMA13NC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BAMA13NC is on a distinguished road
Default

I have never seen a factory head unit with rca pre outs, and I have done over a ton of head unit replacements. The only thing you can use to run rca's from a factory head unit is a line out convertor about 12-20 bucks at any audio shop, you can also use the power antenna/ amp turn on wire for infinity systems. non-infinity systems you can go to the accessory wire on your main ignition harness to supply the amp turn on power will turn on the amp when the key is turned to accessory as well as the on position. The only downfall to factory head units is the bass reduction that always goes along with a stock unit.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:38 PM
chrisisbored24 chrisisbored24 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 40
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
chrisisbored24 is on a distinguished road
Default

yea im hoping to not have to replace the stock HU. but i miss the 2 12s i had in the back of my dakota and that nice full sound.

any idea how to go about taking that center piece of the dash out? i saw a pdf with directions i think for earlier models than a '10 that said to remove the "DODGE" tray insert dealie at the top and the "RAM" insert closer to the bottom and then remove the screws but i was tryin to get em out but was using a fair bit of force but they werent budging and i didnt want to break them/scratch up my dash in the process.

any suggestions?

i figured since u can get an upgraded stereo with a kicker sub the factory HU might just have a least one set of preouts if im lucky.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2010, 11:50 PM
Wader999 Wader999 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Age: 40
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Wader999 is on a distinguished road
Default

BAMA13NC - how much bass reduction on stock hu's? can it be compensated with the gain the amp?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2010, 07:37 PM
BAMA13NC BAMA13NC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Age: 41
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT Quad Cab
Color: Patriot Blue
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
BAMA13NC is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wader999 View Post
BAMA13NC - how much bass reduction on stock hu's? can it be compensated with the gain the amp?
unfortunately not, as you turn the volume up the bass is reduced to prevent damage to the speakers. Amp gain is set to match the output voltage of you head unit. Most head units today usually have a 2 volt output. The higher the output voltage the more you can increase the amp gain. Usually the higher end units Pioneer Premier, kenwood Excelon and such have 5 volt outputs. Plus not all amps can handle 5 volt input. It is a headache most of the time matching them up. the only way to compensate is a bass knob, and then you would have to adjust the bass knob as you turn the volume up. Best thing is to swap to an aftermarket head unit and get rid of the bass reduction of factory head units. Hope this helps u out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2010, 07:55 PM
wester399's Avatar
wester399 wester399 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Age: 29
Posts: 641
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2006 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Grey Metallic
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:100
wester399 will become famous soon enoughwester399 will become famous soon enough
Default

ya bro your gonna have to get a headunit...not a big deal its a fairly easy install..i would consider crutchfield they ususally include everything needed or atleast the harness and any adapters cheap.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:15 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum