DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-29-2010, 12:13 PM
mullinon mullinon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge RAM 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mullinon is on a distinguished road
Default Installing Tekonsha Brake Controller - No Power

Hello, Just got my new 2010 RAM 1500 SLT, with the trailer tow package.
I didn't think to get the factory brake controller because I already had one from my old vehicle.

I got the grey pigtail as recommended and wired it up to my brake controller and have plugged it into the grey plug located under the dash.
Unfortunately, the controller does not appear to be receiving any power.

I checked the plugs they look fine (well seated and locked). I then checked the wires with a volt meter and noticed that the wire that should be providing power, has none. When I test the brake lamp wire, it powers up when the brake pedal is pressed.

I noticed that the other end of the grey plug under dash runs down to a black distribution hub with several other wires. Here it runs into another grey plug which is plug into the side of this distribution hub. I checked these wires and they are the same as noted above.

Am i missing something, a fuse? or relay?

What fuse number should I check for the brake controller. Ive checked all the ones marked trailer tow, but did not see one maked for brake controller?

I'm going camping this weekend and my dealer can't see me before then. I was hoping to get the brake controller running before then.

Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-29-2010, 12:35 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 44
Posts: 13,211
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1885
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Check the TIPMCGW for fuses J-09 and M-27.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2010, 01:24 PM
jj ram's Avatar
jj ram jj ram is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Age: 41
Posts: 259
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Dodge Ram 4x4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Maximum Steel Metallic
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:16
jj ram is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey Mullinon,
There shouldn't be anything else that is needed because I just wired up a pig tail for my Husky controller for my truck, hooked it up last night and there was power, and was working.

I would think fuse or what type grey connector pig tail did you use? Aftermarket or Mopar one? I went to get the Mopar one from an RV dealer and they wanted $55 !!!, plus I noticed that the wire colours didnt match up and you had to interchange them, i.e. green now connects to white, etc. I went to another RV dealer and found an after market one and the wires matched and was only $25.

My point is perhaps it is connected incorrectly or not the right connector? Good luck, where heading out camping next week as well.
__________________
"They will not force us, they will stop degrading use, they will not control us, we will be victorious" - Muse
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2010, 10:07 AM
tomm tomm is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
tomm is on a distinguished road
Default

I installed my tekonsha with a harness from etrailer. Plugged right into the back of the tekonsha and then to the harness under the dash. Didn't have to change a thing. Installed it into the factory location by cutting out the bottom and back of the plastic in the dash. Sticks out a little to allow manual adjustment of the brakes if necessary.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2010, 05:27 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 598
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

Someone else on another forum also had this exact issue. The harness supplied was wired wrong. He had to move a coupe of wires to the correct locations in the plug. You need to compare the factory plug outputs to the ones on the controller to be sure they are correct. I can't seem to find the thread but the problem was that the Tekonsha harness was wired wrong.

Below should be how the factory harness is wired. Just use your controller manual to confirm that the harness they provided matches the factory connector. The picture is oriented looking into the end of your factory plug.

A1, Ground
A2, Brake Lamp Switch Output
A3, 12 volt Positive
A4, Trailer Tow Brake Wire
Attached Images
File Type: jpg C1.jpg (17.5 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2010, 05:52 PM
topgun's Avatar
topgun topgun is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: W PA
Posts: 598
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 2500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
topgun will become famous soon enough
Default

Just realized that you have the factory harness, not the one from Tekonsha. You can still double check the wiring, that's where I would start.
__________________
Undercover SE, Corsa Cat Back, Amp Powersteps, Amp Bedstep, Bedrug, Mopar Tailgate Lock, Mopar Fold Flat Floor, Mopar Flat Rubber Splash Guards, Cooper AT3 285/70/R17's, S&B Intake, Moroso Catch Can
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-15-2010, 01:04 PM
mullinon mullinon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge RAM 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mullinon is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for all the replys, haven't tried anything yet. I will check the fuses as recommended by Remerson228. I'm convinced that the wiring and harness are fine. It was the plug under the dash that I was checking for power and I could not find any power coming through the plug (#3) as noted in the picture posted by topgun. On the plug (#2) would light up with power when I pressed the brake pedal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors