DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 07-18-2010, 10:04 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

Yes - for a 2010 model.

The EVIC does not need to be flashed for it to work as a normal brake controller, however, once connected to the CANBUS it will log an error to the computer (no light) which may be an issue should there ever be something else wrong that requires them to read any codes to troubleshoot.

But it will work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-20-2010, 08:09 PM
mildtowild's Avatar
mildtowild mildtowild is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: surrey, BC
Posts: 25
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram
Trim Level: Sport crew cab
Color: black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mildtowild is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDclassic View Post
I went to my local dealer and they told me that the brake controller will not work in the Ram 1500. From your write up they are wrong. I guess I should just install it and prove them wrong. Will the controller work without the EVIC being flashed.
They told me the same thing, something about there is a bulletin out that they don't work. But they still booked me in to flash the computer. there are no controller available here in BC, all on back order so i had to get mine from the States. installing it was super easy.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-25-2010, 07:34 PM
Shedhead Shedhead is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Carleton Place, ON
Posts: 18
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Shedhead is on a distinguished road
Default

I phoned various dealers here to get one. The answers ranged from:
- we don't fit the factory one, we use a different one
- you can only have one fitted if you order one with your truck
- been on back order for months
- we don't have any but this dealer does.
I went with the last response, called the dealer and picked one up next day.
Fitted it in a few minutes, took the trailer out today, it worked fine.
It doesn't show up on the EVIC as the truck hasn't been updated but at the moment that's not a great concern to me.
Thanks for the original post Netman66 it made the install easy.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-25-2010, 08:55 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

You're welcome, glad it was useful!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-29-2010, 02:07 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netman66 View Post
You're welcome, glad it was useful!
Great post. My new 2010 Ram 1500 SLT Crew was suppose to have both connectors installed with the "trailer tow wiring with 4-pin connector" option, but is missing the second small grey connector. No, my dealer cannot explain why. Would you have a clear photo of the back of the small grey harness connector? I've figured out which wires to run, but haven't figured out how they map to the pins on the connector. Again great job documenting your efforts.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-29-2010, 02:45 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

Pinouts are as follows:

The large connector is wired as follows;
Terminal A1, Ground
Terminal A2, Brake Lamp Switch Output
Terminal A3 12 volt Positive
Terminal A4, Trailer Tow Brake Wire

The small connector is wired as follows;
Terminal B1, CAN C Bus (-), Circuit D51 22g WT/LB
Terminal B2, CAN C Bus (+), Circuit D52 22g WT/LG
Terminal B3, Fused Ignition Run/Start Control Output, Circuit F943 20g PK/LG
Terminal B4, Unused

Last edited by Netman66; 07-29-2010 at 02:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:47 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netman66 View Post
Pinouts are as follows:

The small connector is wired as follows;
Terminal B1, CAN C Bus (-), Circuit D51 22g WT/LB
Terminal B2, CAN C Bus (+), Circuit D52 22g WT/LG
Terminal B3, Fused Ignition Run/Start Control Output, Circuit F943 20g PK/LG
Terminal B4, Unused
Thank you for your help. Since I don't care if I have the canbus related features installed, I suspect I only need to wire the pink/light green wire to B3.

Last edited by ken99; 07-29-2010 at 10:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-29-2010, 10:49 PM
Netman66 Netman66 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 166
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie 4x4
Color: Inferno Red / Light Greystone Pearl
Rep Power: 5
Rep:82
Netman66 will become famous soon enough
Default

My pleasure. I hope it helped.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-31-2010, 01:43 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Netman66 View Post
My pleasure. I hope it helped.
Netman66 - Can you confirm that I have the canbus or B connector correctly mapped? I was able to find a schematic on the net mapping the main module connector (aka, A connector), but nothing for the small one. I'm using the same logic on the B connector as the A. Since the pink/lg wire has some amperage, I fear connecting it wrong could be disasterous.



Ken
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ITBM_connector_map.JPG (79.4 KB, 738 views)

Last edited by ken99; 07-31-2010 at 11:29 PM. Reason: ken99 can't spell worth squat.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-01-2010, 06:14 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Netman66 - Can you confirm that I have the canbus or B connector correctly mapped? I was able to find a schematic on the net mapping the main module connector (aka, A connector), but nothing for the small one. I'm using the same logic on the B connector as the A. Since the pink/lg wire has some amperage, I fear connecting it wrong could be disasterous.
Success! The photo shows the correct ITBM pin locations for the harness leads described by Netman66. I found a schematic in Dodge's body builder section labeled "Trailer Tow Module - Brake Provision - ITBM", which was a mistake. The schematic has A3 and A4 labeled backwards, which confused me.



The wires themselves are relatively easy to find, but you must remove the bundling tape wrapped around the harness where it forks for a large bundle routed towards the top of the dash. I found all three wires had small sections wrapped in tape. Removing the tape revealed bear wire. I am guessing these are the spots where the second pigtail is attached on vehicles so equiped. I have t-tapped into the lines and rebundled with tape. I cannot find a source for the small grey connector (which Yazaki part# 7283-5561-40 matches), so for now I will simply use speaker size bayonette crimp connectors on the 3 wires attaching to the controller.

Again thanks to Netman66 for his help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ITBM_connector_map.JPG (84.7 KB, 838 views)

Last edited by ken99; 08-01-2010 at 06:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum