DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2010 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2010 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the new 2010 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:30 AM
phillymac23 phillymac23 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Age: 43
Posts: 11
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: ST
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
phillymac23 is on a distinguished road
Default 2010 ST Factory RKE or Aftermarket Security System

My 2010 Ram 1500 doesn't have RKE and from reading another post this can be added by getting the remote start kit 82212194. I called the dealer and they said $350-375 installed for the kit. My question is should I stay factory or go with an aftermarket alarm system like Viper. My concern is if I have an aftermarket installed they will be splicing wires where the factory should be plug and play. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:39 AM
sowardcustoms's Avatar
sowardcustoms sowardcustoms is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Burleson,TX
Age: 38
Posts: 490
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Ram R/T
Trim Level: R/T
Color: Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:145
sowardcustoms will become famous soon enoughsowardcustoms will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phillymac23 View Post
My 2010 Ram 1500 doesn't have RKE and from reading another post this can be added by getting the remote start kit 82212194. I called the dealer and they said $350-375 installed for the kit. My question is should I stay factory or go with an aftermarket alarm system like Viper. My concern is if I have an aftermarket installed they will be splicing wires where the factory should be plug and play. Thanks
I would stay factory on electronics if they do something wrong tap into to the wrong wire or the aftermarket alarm go crazy it could get expensive. the factory one will keep everything the way it should be and warranty wont be an issue. the only thing the factory doesn't provide is alarm feature there's no way at the present time to activate the audible alarm part of it...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:59 AM
Daniel5122's Avatar
Daniel5122 Daniel5122 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 45
Posts: 10
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 10 Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn 4X4
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Daniel5122 is on a distinguished road
Default

Wow...that is good to know. I was thinking of adding one of these just to get the factory alarm. I cant believe that there is no way to activate the alarm feature.
__________________
Anything worth shooting is worth shooting twice. Ammo is cheap. Life is expensive.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:04 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors