DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old 09-15-2010, 08:08 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Guys - My notes are summarized in the attached PDF file. My dealer didn't indicate this modification would cause problems, they simply insisted it could not be done. When I informed the parts dept that I had been able to make the controller work in my truck, they admitted Chrysler has issued TSB stating an adapter kit to retrofit the "B" harness would be available in late 2010. Until then I guess the "official" word is the factory controller cannot be made to work with these trucks.

Ken
So if I have the blue plug that fits into the blue plug on an 09 I am half way there? I wonder if the wires you tapped are in the harness on an 09 and if they are do they do the same thing?
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 09-15-2010, 08:33 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick980 View Post
So if I have the blue plug that fits into the blue plug on an 09 I am half way there?
Yes and no. The four wires in your blue plug are functionally the same four wires in found in large square grey plug on the 2010 (and I presume now the 2011). The blue plug will not fit the ITBM, so you either need to find a replacement plug from a late model Ford Superduty or run jumpers in the same fashion that I did for the second harness. It may be possable to get the 2010+ main harness from a Dodge parts counter.

Quote:
I wonder if the wires you tapped are in the harness on an 09 and if they are do they do the same thing?
I don't know. Everyone I know with a 2009 has turned me down when I ask if I can tear their dash apart and unravel the wiring harness in it. Some get rather upset over it.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 09-15-2010, 08:47 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agjames View Post
Can anyone point me in the right direction to get the bezel and controller? Canadian prices are way up there at the dealerships for stuff like this..
You close to a border? Just call and order it from a dealer with a credit card and then go pick it up . I use Southfield Jeep or Chrysler they changed their name I think haven't been in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 09-15-2010, 09:12 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Success! The photo shows the correct ITBM pin locations for the harness leads described by Netman66. I found a schematic in Dodge's body builder section labeled "Trailer Tow Module - Brake Provision - ITBM", which was a mistake. The schematic has A3 and A4 labeled backwards, which confused me.



The wires themselves are relatively easy to find, but you must remove the bundling tape wrapped around the harness where it forks for a large bundle routed towards the top of the dash. I found all three wires had small sections wrapped in tape. Removing the tape revealed bear wire. I am guessing these are the spots where the second pigtail is attached on vehicles so equiped. I have t-tapped into the lines and rebundled with tape. I cannot find a source for the small grey connector (which Yazaki part# 7283-5561-40 matches), so for now I will simply use speaker size bayonette crimp connectors on the 3 wires attaching to the controller.

Again thanks to Netman66 for his help.
Hey I have an early build 09 and after reading this about that part of the harness when I was putting t taps for my pace edwards locking tailgate I saw three or four wires that just had tape on them I thought oops a repair was made at the factory or whatever didn't check what the deal was maybe I have the ability to hook up a new trailer brake, I didn't give up on the fuel saver light and bam I got that. I could just put female spade connectors on the ends of my plug that goes into the big blue one and just plug them on separately on each connector. Then figure out the bus wires...maybe they are the same.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 09-15-2010, 09:28 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick980 View Post
I could just put female spade connectors on the ends of my plug that goes into the big blue one and just plug them on separately on each connector.
I would make a set of jumpers that plug into the blue connector on one end and the ITBM on the other. Over the year, I've learned it is usually best not to cut off OEM harness connectors.

Quote:
Then figure out the bus wires...maybe they are the same.
Like I said in the PDF I provided with post #37, it theory it should work.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 09-15-2010, 09:39 PM
Angot Angot is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: TRX4
Color: Mango Tango
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Angot is on a distinguished road
Default

I got mine installed but haven't had the chance to make it out to my trailer to make sure it works. I can however change the gain on the controller so I would venture to say something is not right with the connections or the controller itself. I will post back when I can get it hooked up to my trailer.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 09-15-2010, 10:03 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

So here is a pic of my blue plug it even names the wires so with connectors that fit the spades on, okay I am 3 wires away from a trailer brake. Can someone post where the instructions for the starscan or WII or whatever they use now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg trailerblueconnector.jpg (66.8 KB, 103 views)

Last edited by rick980; 09-15-2010 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 09-19-2010, 02:07 AM
Angot Angot is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 8
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: TRX4
Color: Mango Tango
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Angot is on a distinguished road
Default

For the record, my controller works!
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 09-20-2010, 09:59 PM
rick980 rick980 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 370
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram CC Sport 4x4
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
rick980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken99 View Post
Yes and no. The four wires in your blue plug are functionally the same four wires in found in large square grey plug on the 2010 (and I presume now the 2011). The blue plug will not fit the ITBM, so you either need to find a replacement plug from a late model Ford Superduty or run jumpers in the same fashion that I did for the second harness. It may be possable to get the 2010+ main harness from a Dodge parts counter.



I don't know. Everyone I know with a 2009 has turned me down when I ask if I can tear their dash apart and unravel the wiring harness in it. Some get rather upset over it.
The Blue part plugs into my truck and the wires are marked what they are for so I just need to put 4 spades on them and then plug the spakes into the ITBM on the side that gets the 4 and then maybe the other wires are up there in that bundle if they are I wonder if the do the same thing I suppose I could test the one for power, the others....how to know for sure. I can get trailer brake controllers everyday in the states they don't hold back like in Canada.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 09-20-2010, 11:03 PM
ken99 ken99 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montana
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 1500 Crew 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Austin Tan Pearl
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:26
ken99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick980 View Post
The Blue part plugs into my truck and the wires are marked what they are for so I just need to put 4 spades on them and then plug the spakes into the ITBM on the side that gets the 4
Yes

Quote:
and then maybe the other wires are up there in that bundle if they are I wonder if the do the same thing I suppose I could test the one for power, the others....how to know for sure.
Did you read the PDF on this post?

http://www.ramforumz.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=37
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum