DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 2nd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-13-2011, 03:05 PM
camoman214 camoman214 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 217
Gender: Male
Vehicle: None right now
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
camoman214 is on a distinguished road
Default How do I choose a relay?

I want to install two relays in my truck. One for some KC lights and one for my CB radio. How do I chose the right relay for these devices?
__________________

Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-13-2011, 03:21 PM
highlandchef's Avatar
highlandchef highlandchef is offline
Conventional Eccentric
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl Coat
Rep Power: 4
Rep:220
highlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura about
Default

Not overly difficult just choose relays rated to handle at least the amps you expect to draw for your lights of CB. Particularly for the lights you also want to make sure you have the right gauge wire. Remember you will need a heavier gauge wire based both on the number of amps being drawn as well as the length of the run.

Your amps for lights are figured by dividing the TOTAL light wattage by 12 and that will give you the amps (i.e. 100 watts/ 12volts = 8.33 amps)
__________________

Disclaimer: I'm getting old and my opinions will reflect that fact!

Last edited by highlandchef; 09-13-2011 at 03:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2011, 03:28 PM
camoman214 camoman214 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 217
Gender: Male
Vehicle: None right now
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
camoman214 is on a distinguished road
Default

Alright, easy enough. Second, I'd like to wire up the CB radio relay under the hood and tap into a key-on only power supply and want to know which device/circuit I should tap into?

Thanks for the formula. That will make it very easy.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2011, 04:05 PM
highlandchef's Avatar
highlandchef highlandchef is offline
Conventional Eccentric
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl Coat
Rep Power: 4
Rep:220
highlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura about
Default

For the relays, unless you plug a lot into the 12v outlet I would do that if yours is keyed-on. For the actual power to run the the lights and CB, wire them directly to the battery with an inline fuse. In my van I had several battery direct connections so I installed a terminal block right next to the battery and ran my connections there so you could do that as well.
__________________

Disclaimer: I'm getting old and my opinions will reflect that fact!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-13-2011, 04:28 PM
Stangshcky12 Stangshcky12 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 24
Posts: 2,118
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Dodge Ram 2500
Color: Mineral Gray
Rep Power: 0
Rep:177
Stangshcky12 has a spectacular aura aboutStangshcky12 has a spectacular aura about
Default

If your just running a plain cb without an amp or any power adders you will be fine just running the cb off of an accesory fuse (look into a thing called add a fuse) or you could use the cigerette lighter (I just put a plug on like this: http://www.google.com/products/catal...d=0CIUBEPMCMAA# which is nice cause it has a fuse in it)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-13-2011, 04:34 PM
camoman214 camoman214 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 217
Gender: Male
Vehicle: None right now
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
camoman214 is on a distinguished road
Default

Is the cigarette lighter only powered with the key on?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2011, 05:04 PM
highlandchef's Avatar
highlandchef highlandchef is offline
Conventional Eccentric
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl Coat
Rep Power: 4
Rep:220
highlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura about
Default

Sometimes yes; sometimes no. The new rams have one of each. If the power to your lighter isn't keyed try the radio power for the relays.
__________________

Disclaimer: I'm getting old and my opinions will reflect that fact!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2011, 06:02 PM
Stangshcky12 Stangshcky12 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Age: 24
Posts: 2,118
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2005 Dodge Ram 2500
Color: Mineral Gray
Rep Power: 0
Rep:177
Stangshcky12 has a spectacular aura aboutStangshcky12 has a spectacular aura about
Default

The top one near the radio and the one in my consol always have power, the lower one near my transfer case shifter is only with the key, I relayed that one to my air horns so you have to have the key
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2011, 06:29 PM
highlandchef's Avatar
highlandchef highlandchef is offline
Conventional Eccentric
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 1,228
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl Coat
Rep Power: 4
Rep:220
highlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura abouthighlandchef has a spectacular aura about
Default

That's just it; different vehicles have different circuits that work, even different years or models from the same manufacture vary. The nice thing is the relays themselves pull so little power you can easily place several of them on almost any line.
__________________

Disclaimer: I'm getting old and my opinions will reflect that fact!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: Push Button Start Black05 Dodge Ram Knowledge Base 10 01-30-2014 06:46 PM
Hmmmmmm.....HID Relay Buzzing Ramathorne Custom Dodge Ram Interior and Exterior Lighting 29 03-19-2013 11:14 PM
My truck has trouble starting... no one can figure out problem Pork Chop 3.7L PowerTech V6 Specific Topics 15 05-14-2011 10:14 PM
How much would you charge? crob 5.7L V8 Specific Topics 4 04-27-2011 01:12 AM
!!how much would you charge?11 crob Dodge Ram General Discussion 5 04-21-2011 11:44 PM


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:24 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum