DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Electrical 2nd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.

Latest Vendor News
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2010, 10:48 PM
String13's Avatar
String13 String13 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: South Jersey
Age: 21
Posts: 73
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Mineral Gray Metallic
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
String13 is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Horn Dead Short

So, purchased an air horn that requires the compressor, yada yada; irrelevant. The switch were using is it lights up when "on" and has three terminals (Ground on the far right, A/C On in the middle, and Supply Volt on the far left.
Well, I wanted to run that horn and the factory horn to the switch so I could use both. We have terminal 86 wired to the hot wire from the steering wheel button, terminal 87 is wired to the factory horn. The 85 terminal is grounded, terminal 30 is wired with a fusable link to the battery to get 12v power. What the idea was? Wire both the compressor and the factory horn to terminal 87 and have the switch be spliced into the wire between the compressor and terminal 87 (so with the switch on, both horns will sound, with the switch off, the power to the air horn will be cut so only the factory will sound.) What we did was everything above, like connected the terminals and what not, but we didn't connect the compressor (we just wanted to see if the switch was in the on or off position, and see if it had any effect on the factory horn.) The switch lights up blue when "on", and when I first hit the horn, it lit up and the factory horn sounded. I switched it to off, hit the horn, ..dead short. Does anyone know why this might've happened? Did we forget to ground something, put wires into the wrong terminals, not use a strong enough fuse? (30 amp) We're mind boggled.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 01-02-2011, 09:28 PM
Jersey Devil's Avatar
Jersey Devil Jersey Devil is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Age: 47
Posts: 56
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Metalic Silver
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Jersey Devil will become famous soon enough

First a 30amp fuse is way too big for that 20amp switch you have.
I would think somehow your feeding two hots into the switch and one to a ground. Its hard to try and figure out what your attempting without seeing it. But be careful with a 30amp fuse if the wires not rated you may have bigger problems, like fire.
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 09:55 PM
david60 david60 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2003 Dodge Ram Quad cab4x4
Trim Level: loaded
Color: Blk
Engine: 2001-2003 359ci (5.9L) Cummins ISB 24-Valve Diesel I6 235hp 460lb/ft (manual and auto)
Rep Power: 0
david60 is on a distinguished road

I have a 2002 ram and my horn stoped working just checked out the horn with a battery hooked up to the horns and they work, Every time you push the pad down a relay clicks but no horn Help.....
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 PM.

= Copyright a Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.