DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > V6 Specific Topics
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-07-2012, 01:04 PM
99Rampower 99Rampower is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: sdjfhasd
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 99 Dodge Ram V8 318
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
99Rampower is on a distinguished road
Default 318 to 360 swap HELP!!

I have a 1999 dodge ram with a 318 in it. I hae a complete 360 minus the head that i am planning on rebuilding and installing in my truck. All i am going to do is bore it .030 over and put in a mild cam and a good exhaust. My main question is will my 318 heads fit on the 360 block? I know that the 318 has more compression(8.5:1 compared to 7.2:1 if thats right) which is another bonus if it will work another is will the computer work or will i have to swap that as well or will a computer chip compensate for the larger displacement. Any info would be great.
Thanks Phillip
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-07-2012, 04:35 PM
ramvan2500's Avatar
ramvan2500 ramvan2500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 1,905
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1995 Dodge Ram B2500 Van
Trim Level: SLT - 2500
Color: Deep Molten Pearl Coat, Silver, Grey
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 5
Rep:128
ramvan2500 will become famous soon enoughramvan2500 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Rampower View Post
I have a 1999 dodge ram with a 318 in it. I hae a complete 360 minus the head that i am planning on rebuilding and installing in my truck. All i am going to do is bore it .030 over and put in a mild cam and a good exhaust. My main question is will my 318 heads fit on the 360 block? I know that the 318 has more compression(8.5:1 compared to 7.2:1 if thats right) which is another bonus if it will work another is will the computer work or will i have to swap that as well or will a computer chip compensate for the larger displacement. Any info would be great.
Thanks Phillip
The 318 heads fit the 360 yes. The compression in the 318 and 360 is 9.1:1 roughly, depends on tolerances. But the compression you should work with is the compression based on the swept volume which is the distance from the piston crown to the deck when the intake valve closes. This is much more accurate, to find that distance you just have to do a little trig very easy. If you want my honest opinion you would benefit from using comp cams 20-604-9 and setup everything so you can have a DCR of about 8.0-8.5:1. If you use the cast iron heads you will want to use a 180 degree thermostat and probably mid-grade fuel, fuel selection will be iffy you have to but it on a brake dyno and calibrate from there just like the engineers (hello) do. But if you do that you will have some serious power, with the proper head flow and precise crank balancing you could see lower to mid 400, with the correct fuel mapping and calibration. All in the calibration.

Oh the stock DCR for a 318 is around 7.7-7.9:1
I never calculated the DCR for the 360, but it's going to be close to the same because they both ask for octane 87.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2012, 12:15 PM
99Rampower 99Rampower is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: sdjfhasd
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 99 Dodge Ram V8 318
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
99Rampower is on a distinguished road
Default

If i was to use that cam with that big of a lift and duration, what about the rest of the valve train? Springs, lifters, push rods, etc. Also i noticed that the computer would have to be modified. Would an Edge Programmer or something along those lines work or would i have to get the entire computer re programmed?
Thanks Phillip
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2012, 12:24 PM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 44
Posts: 13,219
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 15
Rep:1885
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

Follow the recommendations of the cam manufacturer for spring guidance. Pushrod length should be measured and appropriate length units installed. I would call several programmer manufacturers and tell them your plans and ask what options they offer.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2012, 01:04 PM
99Rampower 99Rampower is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: sdjfhasd
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 99 Dodge Ram V8 318
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
99Rampower is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2012, 01:14 PM
ramvan2500's Avatar
ramvan2500 ramvan2500 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 1,905
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1995 Dodge Ram B2500 Van
Trim Level: SLT - 2500
Color: Deep Molten Pearl Coat, Silver, Grey
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 5
Rep:128
ramvan2500 will become famous soon enoughramvan2500 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99Rampower View Post
Ok thanks for the help
Follow what ramtech said, go with the cam manufactures recommendations for valve train. As for the ECM, you can get it programmed. But if you buy the mopar performance ECM it will work perfectly with that cam (can tell you that from first hand experience with that cam and M/P ecm).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:20 AM
Warlock III Warlock III is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Earth...DUH!
Posts: 7,868
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 95
Trim Level: Cloaking
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:1776
Warlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant future
Default

Double check the duration on the after-market cam if you use one as it will have higher lift and duration...meaning there may be a slight advance required while installing the chain and gears to achieve the correct timing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:26 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors