DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-27-2012, 02:40 PM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default I discovered something interesting with my Uconnect

Here's how it started. I took the RBZ head unit and Uconnect hands free kit out of my 2012 Ram Express and swapped them into my 2012 Big Horn. The Uconnect had been activated in the Express by the dealer. OK here's where it gets interesting.

After installing the HU and Uconnect into the Big Horn which did not come with Uconnect from the factory, my phone was still working through the Uconnect. However, the "Uconnect Phone" and "Voice Command" buttons on the HU when pressed display "uconnect phone not available".

So it appears that once you have sync'd your phone to the Uconnect it retains the ability to send and receive calls via the phone even if you transfer the Uconnect unit to another vehicle. I still need to take it to the dealer and have the Uconnect activated in this truck, just thought this was interesting.

Last edited by jjbovenzi; 11-27-2012 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-27-2012, 04:18 PM
Socalgordon Socalgordon is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eastvale, CA
Posts: 283
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:117
Socalgordon will become famous soon enoughSocalgordon will become famous soon enough
Default

Now the question is... can the 8.4N screen and bezel center piece from the 2013 be put in the 2012?? So you are saying that the radios fit in the 2013? I was told by the dealership that the support bars and holding spot for the radios in the 2012 were removed and redesigned for the 2013? I would LOVE to get that huge 2013 8.4 screen and bezel in the my 2012 big horn!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-27-2012, 06:18 PM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default

My error, I keep typing 2013, it is a 2012, can't answer that question for you.

Now the update... Everything is working as of today, I did not have to go to the dealership and have it activated. So I'm assuming that what happens when they activated it through the computer stays with the Uconnect box and really has nothing to do with the Trucks computer.

So now the question is this, if you buy a used Uconnect hands free kit that has already been activated, do you need to go to the dealer or not? I'm going to say not.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2012, 11:11 AM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 797
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

When you have the vehicle flashed, they are programming the TPIM to tell the radio that you have added Uconnect module. They're not programming the Uconnect module itself. So if you bought a Uconnect module that was working in another vehicle, it would not work inn the new vehicle unless it has been flashed.





Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbovenzi View Post
My error, I keep typing 2013, it is a 2012, can't answer that question for you.

Now the update... Everything is working as of today, I did not have to go to the dealership and have it activated. So I'm assuming that what happens when they activated it through the computer stays with the Uconnect box and really has nothing to do with the Trucks computer.

So now the question is this, if you buy a used Uconnect hands free kit that has already been activated, do you need to go to the dealer or not? I'm going to say not.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2012, 03:31 PM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default

Ah, so by switching my radio along with the Uconnect I did it. Thanks for the info!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-2012, 09:20 PM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default

OK, update on the Head/Uconnect swap. I've been using the Uconnect OK for the past couple of weeks but here's what I discovered. The Uconnect will only recognize the iPhone when it is hardwired to the unit. If I unplug the USB cable from the phone and push the Phone or VS buttons I get the "Uconnect phone unavailable" message. So I will end up having to go to the dealer after all and have them flash the computer on this truck. I also decided to switch phones and go with my DROID X and see if I can get everything working, with the iPhone I could not get the text messaging to work and Uconnect even states that feature does not work with them. The DROID is supposed to be able to so we'll see. My wife's iPhone will do the text messaging with her Honda CRV though and I'm jealous! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2012, 12:09 PM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 797
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

I had thought that it was odd that the Uconnect worked after doing the swap because I had thought that the TPIM was flashed to "RSP" and then it powered up the Uconnect module.


If I remember correctly, the DroidX will only be able to receive messages but sending an SMS will fail. Also you have to make sure that the DX has the most current SW in it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbovenzi View Post
OK, update on the Head/Uconnect swap. I've been using the Uconnect OK for the past couple of weeks but here's what I discovered. The Uconnect will only recognize the iPhone when it is hardwired to the unit. If I unplug the USB cable from the phone and push the Phone or VS buttons I get the "Uconnect phone unavailable" message. So I will end up having to go to the dealer after all and have them flash the computer on this truck. I also decided to switch phones and go with my DROID X and see if I can get everything working, with the iPhone I could not get the text messaging to work and Uconnect even states that feature does not work with them. The DROID is supposed to be able to so we'll see. My wife's iPhone will do the text messaging with her Honda CRV though and I'm jealous! LOL
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-13-2012, 12:04 AM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default

Another thing I discovered today... by plugging in one of the already PAIR'D iPhones I was able to PAIR the DroidX! I had to do it twice as the first time around I wasn't getting any sound when making a call so I deleted it and PAIR'D it again and it works. It's still a bit iffy, doesn't seem to see the phone is there until I Stream via Bluetooth or hardwire it to the Uconnect USB port. Then I can unplug it and it keeps connected.

I can receive texts and have the HU read them to me but sending texts fails as you stated. I read somewhere else about giving access to your address book for texting to work but I haven't been able to figure out how?

The Droid is running 2.3.4 I updated it yesterday after doing a factory reset.

So I'm still going to the dealer in the morning and have it flashed and while I'm there have them add the radio to the VIN so I can get the RAM logo splash screen as well.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-13-2012, 10:29 AM
jjbovenzi's Avatar
jjbovenzi jjbovenzi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville, TN
Posts: 29
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jjbovenzi is on a distinguished road
Default

Uconnect flashed to new truck and everything is back to normal. However, the mechanic apparently did not know how to change the VIN associated to the HU so I still have the Chrysler flash screen. xsdbs can you tell me where I can get the instructions, or what the bulletin number might be for this so I can take that info to the dealer next time?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-17-2012, 12:43 PM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 797
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

I don't know of a TSB for that. I have heard most people say that it was done by flahing the TPIM, it most likely is flashed to the non touchscreen radio and should be flashed to the new radio code, then the radio gets a CAN message on the vehicle type.




Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbovenzi View Post
Uconnect flashed to new truck and everything is back to normal. However, the mechanic apparently did not know how to change the VIN associated to the HU so I still have the Chrysler flash screen. xsdbs can you tell me where I can get the instructions, or what the bulletin number might be for this so I can take that info to the dealer next time?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum