DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > 4.7L (287 cu in) PowerTech V8 Specific Topics


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-18-2012, 10:48 AM
Monty1 Monty1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 36
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Tradesman reg cab
Color: white
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Monty1 is on a distinguished road
Default Transmission temp

I do not have the EVIC and would like to know the transmission temp of my 4.7. I have a scangauge 2 does anyone know if its possible to have the transmiison temp from the scangauge 2 ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-18-2012, 08:44 PM
TNC TNC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hawley, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 698
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
TNC is on a distinguished road
Default

If you have the Scanguage in hand, can't you just plug it in and scroll through to the trans temp window? I have an MSD Dashawk for my two '07 GM vehicles, and it reads trans temp, but it doesn't read my '12 Express trans temp. That doesn't mean the Scanguage won't read it, however. I notice that the site for Scanguage warns that some items won't get read by the guage on some vehicles.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2012, 11:30 AM
TNC TNC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hawley, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 698
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
TNC is on a distinguished road
Default

Bump...kinda been waiting to see if the OP or anyone else has used a Scanguage to try and read trans temp through it. The only reason I haven't purchased one for my '12 Express is that I can't find any info indicating whether or not it will read our real time trans temp like they will on my GM vehicles. Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2012, 11:57 AM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,386
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Not sure on the scangauge, but to answer the original question, my 2010 4.7L quad cab with 3.55 gearing normally operates anywhere from 120 deg F to 160 deg F. Sometimes on trips less than 20 min or so it won't even get that hot. The highest it ever got was in teh 180's or 190's.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:33 PM
TNC TNC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hawley, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 698
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
TNC is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snrusnak View Post
Not sure on the scangauge, but to answer the original question, my 2010 4.7L quad cab with 3.55 gearing normally operates anywhere from 120 deg F to 160 deg F. Sometimes on trips less than 20 min or so it won't even get that hot. The highest it ever got was in teh 180's or 190's.
Yeah, that's about what my GM vehicles turn out in temps. With no EVIC, I'd like to get the relatively inexpensive Scanguage setup for my truck but not if it doesn't read trans temp. While my MSD Dashawk won't read the trans temp on my Ram, it will read codes and cancel them, so I don't really need a scan tool.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-26-2012, 12:39 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,386
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Your express does not have evic? You ought to just do the conversion from a junk yard truck. I don't think it's all that expensive. The evic is really nice to have. My brother's express has evic, I think it is part of the trailer control package.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-26-2012, 08:42 PM
TNC TNC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hawley, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 698
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
TNC is on a distinguished road
Default

Nope, no EVIC. Around my area, it wasn't unusual for an Express not to have EVIC, even with the trailer package, which mine has. I'm fairly certain that dealers can equip their orders with some flexibility to meet price points. I do like devices like my MSD Dashawk, not made anymore, that read various sensors that you can pick and choose, and the Scanguage is really inexpensive at about $130 or so...and you can move it to other vehicles with OBDII.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum