DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > Dodge Ram Detailing and General Maintenance Forum > Oil Change


Notices

Oil Change Ready to change the oil in your Dodge Ram? Engine -Trans - Differential - Transfer Case


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Total Load Control!
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
FGT Motorsport
Bayou Goat Mounts
tonneaucovered.com
Mopar Online Parts!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:51 AM
ArizonaRam's Avatar
ArizonaRam ArizonaRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Tan Valley
Age: 25
Posts: 26
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express - Reg Cab
Color: Maroon
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
ArizonaRam is on a distinguished road
Default Oil Question

So i got my oil change a little while ago, when i got close to 3000 miles the truck told me it was time to change the oil. Now im a little over 6000 milesb truck isnt saying its time to change the oil. When i called the dealer they told me that there is a sensor in the oil that can tell when the oil is still good and once it starts going back the truck will tell me its time to change... is this truth? Im still getting it changed just cause i dont trust dealers too much but coming for the Euro scene im not too sure how the Rams operate yet. Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:57 AM
RamTech's Avatar
RamTech RamTech is offline
Resident Technician



 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tennessee
Age: 45
Posts: 14,203
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dakota Club Cab 4X4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Bright Silver
Rep Power: 17
Rep:1911
RamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant futureRamTech has a brilliant future
Default

No, there is not a particular sensor that performs this function but the oil change interval IS calculated by the PCM based on the engines duty cycle. If you wish to keep the interval at 3000, there's nothing wrong with that. Just make sure you reset the monitor each time you change it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:22 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors