DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 Discuss modifying your Dodge Ram with Performance Parts and Accessories!
Factory Spec: 5.7-liter HEMI® V8 engine - 390 horsepower, 407 lb-ft of torque.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:49 AM
1500ram12's Avatar
1500ram12 1500ram12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 276
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:81
1500ram12 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkreit01 View Post
I have a generic question on both BD and Diablo tuners...Do you have to keep the device in your truck at all times, or can you simply upload the tune, and then put tuner back in your house? I do not want full-time device hanging from my windshield nor pillar. I have not had a tuner with any vehicle, but I know with some Fords, you would use SCT to install the tune, and then it was done. If you had to go to dealer, reflash back to stock.
I have mine sitting in the cup holder. I disconnect mine at night because I havent found a keyed on or ignition on fuse yet. You would do the same with these tuners, return them to stock when going to the dealer
__________________
2010 Ram 2500 SLT 6.7L Cummins, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx Race Tuner, DPF Delete, EGR Delete, Bilstein 5100's, raceland 4" e-cutout
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:22 PM
06 BigHorn's Avatar
06 BigHorn 06 BigHorn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Western PA
Age: 44
Posts: 558
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Express Quad Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:153
06 BigHorn has a spectacular aura about06 BigHorn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1500ram12 View Post
I have mine sitting in the cup holder. I disconnect mine at night because I havent found a keyed on or ignition on fuse yet. You would do the same with these tuners, return them to stock when going to the dealer
Don't you just plug the tuner into the computer plug under the dash? Is there additional wiring required?
__________________
It's a truck, not a cream puff
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:35 PM
kkreit01 kkreit01 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 473
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC 4x4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Sagebrush
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:87
kkreit01 will become famous soon enough
Default

^ If you have the brake controller, I can help you with a keyed acc tap. It took me forever to find one for my hardwired Passport, but I finally did. There's lots of empty plugs under the dash, but seems like every time I found +12V, it was hot all the time. I think the cigarette lighter is also keyed, but it's more of a pain to get to it's wires.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:44 PM
1500ram12's Avatar
1500ram12 1500ram12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 276
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:81
1500ram12 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06 BigHorn View Post
Don't you just plug the tuner into the computer plug under the dash? Is there additional wiring required?
Yeah just one that has to be connected to a keyed on fuse. It comes with a plug that connects to a fuse. That powers the tuner an allows the monitor to be on when the truck is on. I couldn't find a tester light when I installed it so I just used a 10a fuse to hook on too. Bought a new tester light today and found one that was keyed on. Now I don't need to unplug the tuner when I shut the truck off.
__________________
2010 Ram 2500 SLT 6.7L Cummins, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx Race Tuner, DPF Delete, EGR Delete, Bilstein 5100's, raceland 4" e-cutout
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:54 PM
06 BigHorn's Avatar
06 BigHorn 06 BigHorn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Western PA
Age: 44
Posts: 558
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Express Quad Cab
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:153
06 BigHorn has a spectacular aura about06 BigHorn has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkreit01 View Post
^ If you have the brake controller, I can help you with a keyed acc tap. It took me forever to find one for my hardwired Passport, but I finally did. There's lots of empty plugs under the dash, but seems like every time I found +12V, it was hot all the time. I think the cigarette lighter is also keyed, but it's more of a pain to get to it's wires.
care to share your wiring?
__________________
It's a truck, not a cream puff
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:10 PM
huddyhud huddyhud is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Delaware
Age: 34
Posts: 58
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram RT
Trim Level: RT
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
huddyhud is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1500ram12 View Post
Stock tune
Regular tune
Performance tune
shift points 1-2 at WOT
shift points 3-4 WOT
MDS on/off
tire size
top speed
might be another one or two options that I can't think of. I was hoping for a torque management setting or traction control on/off but no option.

After this tank of gas im going to try the performance tune and see what thats like. If I can find a good straight section of a back road that isn't snow covered I want to try some 0-60 times with the regular setting im running now. The programmer will data log and allow you to put the info on your computer.

How high can you set top speed..?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-08-2013, 09:58 PM
Icecoldjb Icecoldjb is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Sport
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Icecoldjb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huddyhud View Post
How high can you set top speed..?
I thought I seen 120 mph on mine for top speed
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-09-2013, 06:15 AM
1500ram12's Avatar
1500ram12 1500ram12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 276
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:81
1500ram12 will become famous soon enough
Default

I set mine at 116, but didn't look to see if it went any higher. But the speedo's only go to 120
__________________
2010 Ram 2500 SLT 6.7L Cummins, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx Race Tuner, DPF Delete, EGR Delete, Bilstein 5100's, raceland 4" e-cutout
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:15 AM
huddyhud huddyhud is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Delaware
Age: 34
Posts: 58
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram RT
Trim Level: RT
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:18
huddyhud is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1500ram12 View Post
I set mine at 116, but didn't look to see if it went any higher. But the speedo's only go to 120
Ok cool, i was hoping it remove it totally. Right now just with the CAI and duals i cab peg 104 easy. I was busting a 94 Cobra's ass this past summer till i hit the limiter and looked like a fool after that.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-09-2013, 07:57 AM
1500ram12's Avatar
1500ram12 1500ram12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 276
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2007-2011 409ci (6.7L) Cummins Turbo Diesel 350hp 650lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:81
1500ram12 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by huddyhud View Post
Ok cool, i was hoping it remove it totally. Right now just with the CAI and duals i cab peg 104 easy. I was busting a 94 Cobra's ass this past summer till i hit the limiter and looked like a fool after that.
Are the speedo's higher than 120 in the r/t's?
__________________
2010 Ram 2500 SLT 6.7L Cummins, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx Race Tuner, DPF Delete, EGR Delete, Bilstein 5100's, raceland 4" e-cutout
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum