DODGE RAM FORUM banner

Finally Installed...First Impression.

2K views 31 replies 13 participants last post by  JoeTheDope 
#1 ·
So, after having my S&B CAI now for about 3 weeks, it is finally installed. As mentioned in many posts before it is very easy to do, and even with pretty much 0 experience in working with anything under the hood it took me about an hour and a half.

To further fuel the debate with the CAI subject, are they worth it do they improve performance?...Here is my take on it...

First impression, it is damn good looking. Start up, no change from stock sound. In "park" driveway rev... nothing really noticeable to be perfectly honest, maybe a slight woosh when you step on it but the rev limiter I'm sure hindered its sound.

Road test...the first thing I noticed was a much deeper sound all around. I have read that it doesn't change the exhaust sound from the rear of the truck, but it adds a sound to the front. I have a flowmaster 40 on and to my ears it indeed changed the exhaust sound. Not louder, but deeper, more throaty if you will. When the RPM's got up the exhaust sound didn't increase its pitch so much as it did before. It got louder but also stayed deeper.

When I stepped on it during the road test, thats when I did hear that noticeable intake sound everyone talks about, and yes it is awesome sounding. Also, my MPG has improved, no not by leaps and bounds, but I can say this, I have been driving heavy footed for 2 days now and my MPG has increased about .25 mpg from before the CAI install when I was driving normally. I can only assume when I start being more gentile on the pedal i'll see maybe a gal increase.