DODGE RAM FORUM banner

Auto dimming high beams

16K views 58 replies 29 participants last post by  ramit355 
#1 ·
For those owners with the auto dimming high beam function, do your high beams return to operating once the oncoming light has passed, or do you have to manually return to high beam mode?

I've never been an advocate of this auto dimming high beam feature in cars. Too many people turn it on and set to delay too long leaving high beams blinding on-coming traffic. But the sensors in this Ram seem to work very well, dimming the highs plenty early to be courteous and conscious of on-coming traffic's safety. My system, though just dims the highs, will not return to high function unless I manually do it.

#6 ·
Thanks, mines not working right then

#14 ·
I agree.

I have never been an advocate of these systems. I drive for a living and excessively bright lights are a pet peive of mine. With that said, my high beams dim early enough for oncoming traffic that I would find it acceptable.

These new brilliantly white/blueish style lights, or improperly modded HID's without the auto-levellers and or proper aiming, or folk who just simply refuse to dim their high beams, are painful, disruptive and certainly inconsiderate.

The original post was not a judgemental comment on the systems. At $62K list for this truck, I want everything working properly. I've got 5500 klics on it now and the list of things that need attention is being compiled for it's second visit back to the dealer. First visit was for a new hood, since the original was covered in pox.

#15 ·
I have to try mine again. I used the auto hi beam when I first got the truck. I didn't care for the constant switching from hi to lo beams. Perhaps is because of my rual area or I am use to controlling the lights on a subconscious level. I will give the feature a fair shot again this spring.

#17 ·
I leave mine on auto and they work very well. They are as quick as I am at turning the high beams off.

#20 · (Edited)