DODGE RAM FORUM banner

Does web MSRP or Window Sticker mean anything when buying?

4K views 29 replies 18 participants last post by  fastNugly @ RP 
#1 ·
Hey guys,
I'm about to go into my dealership this weekend and purchase a Ram Express 8 speed. It's my first new vehicle ever. I'd seriously appreciate any tips concerning the purchasing process.

For me, there is no trade, and no financing required.

I'm a bit confused if the window sticker means anything as far as MSRP? Is it the same?

If yes, is this the figure to start negotiating from?

I've also heard about a "build invoice" and starting from there. Is this the same as the window sticker.

Like I said, I've never purchase a new car and need help.

I've been saving for 2 years and I'm super stoked.

Any tips or constructive experiences are appreciated.

#2 ·
Window sticker is MSRP. You should go in there knowing about what the dealer's invoice is. Play around on cars.com or a similar site and you'll see both MSRP and Invoice for the same configuration. You should be able to buy closer to dealer invoice than MSRP.

#3 ·
Ill give you some advice and you probably wont like it...get unstoked...order up a Consumers Report on the vehicle you're interested in,,,they explain what all the numbers mean, how to negotiate, what to NEVER EVER do....in short do yer homework...you might just save yerself the aggravation of eventually figuring hout just how much of that sexy building YOU get to pay for, when another guy buying the same vehicle, pays THOUSANDS less....to answer your question, given that theres no trade, and its all cash, no, those numbers dont mean squat...the sticker may not even accurately represent whats IN IT>>>>

#4 · (Edited)
Go to Truecar.com, get a savings certificate and ask for 1k under that. They probably wont go that low but they should come down a little. I have sold cars very recently. Truecar is usually the bottom dollar you can get them to go.

#5 ·