DODGE RAM FORUM banner

01 2500 mods

2K views 4 replies 4 participants last post by  dtrmmr 
#1 ·
just got an 01 2500 diesel and im new to the page. im looking to get a little more power without changing a lot of parts. i am installing a k&n filter and a new exaust with an exaust break. this truck will be hooked to a trailer 90% of the time so i would like to get a little extra without going overboard. i have been told about changing the timing and the wastegate to get some power. im not up on everything you can do with stock parts. i have built diesels in the past but im talking beyond street legal. any advise or comments would be great. thanks

#2 ·
Hello and welcome aboard as I noticed this is your first post. Be sure to stop the "newbie" section and tell us a little more about your truck. Pics are always a bonus.
As for your diesel, there are many bolt-on mods that can drastically improve your power and mileage. Based on what you've said already, I would look at a tuner. Hang tight and see what other ideas others offer.

G
#3 ·
Welcome to the forum!

I'd start with a better flowing intake and exhaust. Do some research on the upgrades you can do for upsizing turbo's, installing programs, upgrading lift pumps and changing other fuel delivery components.

Be careful about programmers. Some make power by only dumping more fuel into your engine and creating excessive exhaust gas temperatures. A lot of turbos have failed as a result.

Look for a complete system that offers intake and exhaust mods, a modified program and other ancillary upgrades that may be available that are engineered together. And make sure that you get an EGT probe and gauge installed.

Lastly, when researching these parts (Banks has the most integrated system I've seen BTW) talk to the shops about how they work with upgraded turbos.

Have a great time with the mods!

#4 ·