DODGE RAM FORUM banner

Why is an aftermarket CAI better than stock

6K views 27 replies 18 participants last post by  barr0208 
#1 ·
Just bought an 04 5.7L. My plans include superchips and exhaust, but I'm a little puzzled about the whole CAI thing. Probably because I'm a clueless Dodge newbie.:LOL: Sorry about that.

My question is, how is a CAI better than stock? It looks to me like the stock intake already is a CAI. What's the advantage of getting a CAI set-up over, say, just getting a K&N drop-in?

Sorry if this has been answered before, I wasn't successful in searching for this particular question.

#3 ·
A good CAI has access to cold air (CA part of CAI) not from the engine compartment, but air coming into the engine compartment. They also have a high flow filter whereas the stock filters are somewhat restrictive. Lastly, the tube connecting the filter box to the throttle body (TB) will be smooth versus the stock tube which is not smooth. The smooth tube allows for a good solid even flow of air. The ribbed tube (stock) disrupts the airflow.

#4 ·
look at bfi or varam i say bfi but you going to wait a bit its up to you

#6 ·
#9 ·
Another option is to do a drop in K & N filter in the stock box & cut out the 4" flex ribbed section (about 9" long) & replace it with a smooth 4" plastic tube.

#10 ·
I prefer to drop in a K&N I experimented with my Lightning on CAI...and found that the factory box with a K&N was probably more efficient than the C&L Elbow and K&N cone. Try the drop in filter first you will be surprised.

#13 ·
Just bought an 04 5.7L. My plans include superchips and exhaust, but I'm a little puzzled about the whole CAI thing. Probably because I'm a clueless Dodge newbie.:LOL: Sorry about that.

My question is, how is a CAI better than stock? It looks to me like the stock intake already is a CAI. What's the advantage of getting a CAI set-up over, say, just getting a K&N drop-in?