DODGE RAM FORUM banner

Bone stock, got it today, how do I save gas??

5K views 27 replies 21 participants last post by  jayhkr 
#1 ·
I just picked up my used 04 Dodge Ram 4.7 V8 5 speed manual. I'm new to trucks, my last ride was a VW MKV GTI 6MT. First thing I want to know is how to get better mpgs. I have in mind a tonneau cover (how is it pronounced?) and a cold air. I want to know what the best CAI I can get for under $250? If it's really that good I might consider spending more...but I don't really trust product reviews, and I want to order a bunch of things on my list tomorrow. Also, anyone have any advice regarding my first Ram?

#2 · (Edited)
You got the spelling right, it is pronounced t-ah-no lol.

Well i wonder if the BFI is compatible with your truck. Look through the vendors, and see if it is. If not, I'd recommend building your own. It is very easy. Maybe about 100 bucks.

You will however have a heavier foot because this adds a few horsepower, and changes the tone of the truck, especially at WOT *wide open throttle*.

Youll hear that more air in means you need more air out. I'm saying if you want a great increase, you should consider an exhaust system. The air will come in fast and be able to go out fast and in larger quantities.

However, it is by no means necessairy to do so.

#3 ·
Welcome to the forum! Depending on who you ask or what you read, tonneau (pronounced TONOU) covers save you gas. To me it makes sense that it saves gas but some people say it makes no big difference. As far as cold air intakes go, there are a lot of brands. Some of the more popular ones are the BFI, Volant, Mopar, Airaid and Banks Ram Air. I just intalled the MOPAR in my truck today so I can't swear by any fuel savings yet. CAI can increase mpg but because they make the engine sound meaner you might be tempted to make it purr more and there goes your mpg.