DODGE RAM FORUM banner

tuner came in question before i install it

2K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  brondondolon 
#1 ·
so my diablo intune came in yesterday. i am ordering my BT catch can tomorrow. so far ive done a seafoam treatment through the vac line and cleaned the throttle body. here in about an hour im gonna get an oil change. i have been running 91 octane for the past 2 months or so. is there anything i should do prior to the tuner install? also should i just do the 87 tune until i get the catch can? i want to get the most out of the tuner with out messing anything up. ive never had a tuner on any of my trucks before so im very new to this. thanks guys

09 ram 1500 5.7L 2wd automatic extended cab 30k miles s&b CAI Y-pipe in place of muffler

#2 ·
you should be able to go ahead and install it as your truck is. that's good you've already been running 91 so you can go straight to the 91 tune.

I think you are all set! Just follow the directions and call customer support if you need it. They are generally extremely helpful

#4 · (Edited)
some one told me on the forum that if i use the 91 tune with out a catch can it could cause detonation or something which would destroy my engine so ive been apprehensive

#6 ·
that's non sense ^^^^^^^

#5 ·
oh i forgot to add i also got a 180 thermostat that i havent installed. tomorrow i have the day off for my bday and im basically gonna be spending the whole day doing what i love and thats working on my truck.

#8 ·
thanks guys now i feel better. ill try to get a video before and after on 0-60 if i remember.

#9 ·
well i attempted to install the tuner last night but after it got to 99% calibrated it came up with an error and then went into safe mode. i tried everything i could. i guess im gonna have to call them today.

#10 ·