DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #21  
Old 09-16-2013, 12:21 AM
danno123 danno123 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 2500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
danno123 is on a distinguished road
Default

This unit has the mounting tabs on the side so it is a straight forward install. I am beginning to wonder if it is a corrupt hard drive. Either that or the unit is dead. I am going to look for a disk image and see if that works. Andy I am scratching my head trying to figure this out and came out the same as you. This should be an easy swap. I'll keep you posted. Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22  
Old 09-20-2013, 12:28 PM
danno123 danno123 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram 2500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
danno123 is on a distinguished road
Default

My bad guys. Needed to disconnect the batteries before trying to install this unit. Everything is working as it should. I now have a 2010 Ram 2500 with a 2012 RHR operating fine.

Thanks for all your help!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-20-2013, 10:15 PM
astroman54's Avatar
astroman54 astroman54 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 203
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:52
astroman54 will become famous soon enough
Default

Enjoy the new radio!

Andy
__________________
Andy
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Deep Water Blue Crew Cab Hemi 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-11-2015, 12:33 PM
Jrileyso6 Jrileyso6 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Laurel,ms
Age: 59
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012
Trim Level: Big horn
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Jrileyso6 is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm want add the rhr730 to my 12 ram that has the res130 radio with Sirius but no phone has anyone attempted this? I've no phone button on steering wheel and No mic.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-14-2015, 09:50 PM
astroman54's Avatar
astroman54 astroman54 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 203
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:52
astroman54 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrileyso6 View Post
I'm want add the rhr730 to my 12 ram that has the res130 radio with Sirius but no phone has anyone attempted this? I've no phone button on steering wheel and No mic.
It should work, just that you won't be able to use the buttons on the steering wheel because you don't have them. No worries, they didn't have them on the 2009 steering wheel either.

You will need a microphone, but it doesn't necessarily need to be the one in the rear view mirror. There are others available. Take a look at oemautopartsco.com. They sell a microphone by itself that can mount pretty much anywhere. If you do want the rear view mirror, there is a different cable assembly than I have listed that lets you install it, and you will need to connect it into a power line (cigarette lighter wire) for power to the mirror. Again, make sure you have a high speed buss model radio.

If I'm not mistaken, the Sirius radio antenna on the 12's are dual band, so you just will need to hook up the one connector that's already on your current radio. You will find out if it isn't after you hook it up because it will not find your current location but boot up at the last place the radio was powered up.

Andy
__________________
Andy
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Deep Water Blue Crew Cab Hemi 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-14-2015, 10:34 PM
Mopar Big Horn's Avatar
Mopar Big Horn Mopar Big Horn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: LaGrange, North Carolina
Age: 30
Posts: 1,207
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 RAM 1500 crew cab 2wd
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: PR4 Flame Red
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:139
Mopar Big Horn will become famous soon enoughMopar Big Horn will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrileyso6 View Post
I'm want add the rhr730 to my 12 ram that has the res130 radio with Sirius but no phone has anyone attempted this? I've no phone button on steering wheel and No mic.
astroman54 is spot on. You can upgrade to a RHR as long as it is a high speed. I have upgraded the radio in my RAM from RES- RBZ- RER, it is easy to switch out the radios. As far as the mic, like astroman said you can buy just the mic (my mic is installed on the overhead console on the front driver side).
The antenna thing I always seem to see different answers. My 2011 RAM has the dual band sat radio & GPS antenna but it would not work with the RER. The RER has 2 separate plugs for sat radio & GPS, not sure about some of the other nav radios, but with it plugged into the sat radio it would only work the sat radio and didn't do anything plugged into the GPS. There is a jumper cable that works for the dual antenna that plugs into both sat radio & GPS plugs but it was on the expensive side, so I went with just the GPS antenna (much cheaper) and all is good.
__________________
Check my mod list.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-15-2015, 11:02 PM
astroman54's Avatar
astroman54 astroman54 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 203
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:52
astroman54 will become famous soon enough
Default

Big Horn is correct about the RER having two separate inputs, one for Sirius and one for GPS.. The RHR however only has one input connector for a combined antenna.. Since I bought a RHR, it was easier (and probably cheaper) for me to change my single band Sirius antenna for a dual band than to figure out how to combine two antennas into the one input.

One thing I wish I could add is the two buttons one for phone and one for voice control to the steering wheel that the newer models have.

Anyway good luck with your project!

Andy
__________________
Andy
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Deep Water Blue Crew Cab Hemi 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-13-2015, 11:29 PM
Mopar Big Horn's Avatar
Mopar Big Horn Mopar Big Horn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: LaGrange, North Carolina
Age: 30
Posts: 1,207
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 RAM 1500 crew cab 2wd
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: PR4 Flame Red
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:139
Mopar Big Horn will become famous soon enoughMopar Big Horn will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astroman54 View Post
Big Horn is correct about the RER having two separate inputs, one for Sirius and one for GPS.. The RHR however only has one input connector for a combined antenna.. Since I bought a RHR, it was easier (and probably cheaper) for me to change my single band Sirius antenna for a dual band than to figure out how to combine two antennas into the one input.

Andy
Good to know that the RHR works with the dual band antenna. I just bought a RHR for me from a member and am going to put my RER in my wife's 2011 Grand Cherokee, thought I would have to get a GPS antenna but not now.
__________________
Check my mod list.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-15-2015, 09:51 AM
astroman54's Avatar
astroman54 astroman54 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: New Jersey
Age: 61
Posts: 203
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Deep Water Blue
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:52
astroman54 will become famous soon enough
Default

Just a word of caution.. The 2011 may or may not have the dual band antenna.. I thought that they switched over in the 2012 model year.. If you do install and the GPS doesn't seem to find exactly where you are (in my case the GPS said I was in Texas when I was in NJ.. Then you will need to swap out the roof antenna with a newer one. IT will move you along the map as you drive because the RHR has internal inertia detection which takes over in tunnels and such when it looses GPS satellite reception.

Andy
__________________
Andy
2009 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Deep Water Blue Crew Cab Hemi 4x4
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-15-2015, 12:40 PM
Mopar Big Horn's Avatar
Mopar Big Horn Mopar Big Horn is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: LaGrange, North Carolina
Age: 30
Posts: 1,207
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 RAM 1500 crew cab 2wd
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: PR4 Flame Red
Engine: 2009-2012 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:139
Mopar Big Horn will become famous soon enoughMopar Big Horn will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by astroman54 View Post
Just a word of caution.. The 2011 may or may not have the dual band antenna.. I thought that they switched over in the 2012 model year.. If you do install and the GPS doesn't seem to find exactly where you are (in my case the GPS said I was in Texas when I was in NJ.. Then you will need to swap out the roof antenna with a newer one. IT will move you along the map as you drive because the RHR has internal inertia detection which takes over in tunnels and such when it looses GPS satellite reception.

Andy
Ok thanks for the heads up. I was told I have the dual antenna so hopefully they are right. Do you know if the RHR from a 2012 will a security code? Do you get so many tries to enter the code before it locks you out? If I try using the 0000, 1111, 1234, and so on....

Well I got the answers to my question. Just put the radio in and tried the basic codes and they didn't work, after 5 tries you have to wait 30 minutes. So looks like I will be making a trip to the dealership tomorrow.
__________________
Check my mod list.

Last edited by Mopar Big Horn; 05-15-2015 at 08:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rhr mygig installation

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:42 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors