DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Performance Mods - Engine - 5.7 HEMI V8 Discuss modifying your Dodge Ram with Performance Parts and Accessories!
Factory Spec: 5.7-liter HEMI® V8 engine - 390 horsepower, 407 lb-ft of torque.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01-24-2012, 08:00 PM
greyhemi1772 greyhemi1772 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tyler
Age: 25
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004
Trim Level: slt
Color: grey
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
greyhemi1772 is on a distinguished road
Default Sharadon Performance transmission problems

I have a 04 ram with a Sharadon Performance stage 2 transmission and i keep frying tcms it won't go into first or over drive in any gear it takes off in 2nd gear then immediately goes into 3rd and stays in 3 ive been threw 2 pcms need help anyone have any ideas
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:09 PM
RadioFlyer's Avatar
RadioFlyer RadioFlyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 60
Posts: 946
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 6
Rep:146
RadioFlyer will become famous soon enoughRadioFlyer will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greyhemi1772 View Post
I have a 04 ram with a Sharadon Performa nonce stage 2 transmission and i keep frying tcms it won't go into first or over drive in any gear it takes off in 2nd gear then immediately goes into 3rd and stays in 3 ive been threw 2 pcms need help anyone have any ideas
I'm learning here so plz bare with me. How long inbetween pcms and did you try and reflash them...are you sure they are fried? Excuse me for asking dumb questions but it sounds more like what a sylanoid pack would do
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2012, 09:43 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,379
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

Why don't you contact sheradon? They would likely be the one's with the answer. Is this a new install or has the transmission been in there previously without issue.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2012, 10:57 PM
RadioFlyer's Avatar
RadioFlyer RadioFlyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 60
Posts: 946
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 6
Rep:146
RadioFlyer will become famous soon enoughRadioFlyer will become famous soon enough
Default

True story here...names are changed to protect the innocent, lol. Same thing happened to freinds box stock 545RFE. I reloaded his stock tune (same as reflash) and it worked for the 3hr trip home but failed the next day after 15 min of driving. Reloaded the 93 tune this time and it worked for around two hrs of driving then failed again. Reloaded the stock tune since intervals were getting shorter and fearing catastroefe. Knowing we had little life left we drove to dealership with it stiil working and no engine codes showing so they simply reflashed it saying that's all it needed. I couldn't tell them that I already did that three times with the intervals getting shorter and shorter using a tuner. But I did tell them that I reflashed it by disconnecting the battery and that their reflash would not last long and it didn't. It lasted 15 min, drove back to the dealership with only first and fourth, engine code showing and left it, lol. They fixed it and all is good so far...sylanoid pack was bad plus they threw in a new converter and clutch pack for gp. Not sure what's happening here but I knew the sylanoid pack was going out simply from reading other similar issues on the forum.

Last edited by RadioFlyer; 01-24-2012 at 11:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:49 AM
greyhemi1772 greyhemi1772 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tyler
Age: 25
Posts: 4
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004
Trim Level: slt
Color: grey
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
greyhemi1772 is on a distinguished road
Default

That is exactly what is happening to me excuse any (noobish) tendencies new to forums lol but yes ive done almost to the T what u have done loading and reinstalling the stock tune

So im guessing alota people have had this issue with the sylanoid pack and that being
the remedy?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2012, 04:50 AM
RadioFlyer's Avatar
RadioFlyer RadioFlyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 60
Posts: 946
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 6
Rep:146
RadioFlyer will become famous soon enoughRadioFlyer will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greyhemi1772 View Post
That is exactly what is happening to me excuse any (noobish) tendencies new to forums lol but yes ive done almost to the T what u have done loading and reinstalling the stock tune

So im guessing alota people have had this issue with the sylanoid pack and that being
the remedy?
Actually, you and I are the only ones or the only two that I have heard that attempted to reload tunes for a successful temporary fix...so bravo to you for sharing. I don't know why anyone else hasn't tried it or shared it if they did. If they did, I never saw it ever mentioned. And trust me, not even the infamous Scott at Superchips heard of reloading the tune as a temp fix though he did assure me that it was not the tuner causing it. As snrusnak suggested call them for advise but fix it yourself (if it's not under warranty) if you think you can do it after talking tp them. It's too bad that they don't have an aftermarket company that makes them. It seems to be a reacurring problem with these transmissions. Not sure if it's bad or good...who knows, it seems to be an easier fix than a rebuild. I know for a fact that the converter and clutches were good but they changed them anyway.Was it a good deed on their part or was it for the extra money from Chry that they earned for fixing it while under warranty I will never know.

Last edited by RadioFlyer; 01-25-2012 at 05:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum