DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Towing
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Towing 4th Gen Dodge Ram Towing Questions

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 02-01-2012, 02:21 AM
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport Crew
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-2010 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep:31
jimbodean is on a distinguished road
Default Towing with ball on bumper

Hey all, I'm a total noob to towing and will be (depending on UHaul allowing a bumper hitch...) helping a friend move this week, 4.5 hour drive each way with the trailer (empty there, loaded back).

I've got a 2010 Ram 1500 Crew Cab Sport 5.7L fully loaded (except the hitch receiver... DOH ). The trailer in question is this one: http://www.uhaul.com/Reservations/Eq....aspx?model=RV

The trailer only weighs 1920lbs empty, and the load will definitely not be more than 1000lbs, so we figured the 5000/500 bumper hitch would do the job fine. The only other restriction I could find is the ball height, and according to my uneducated measurements, the height to my bumper is almost exactly 25" from the ground, which is within spec for that trailer. Since we checked that out, I've done some research and it seems a lot of people aren't a huge fan of bumper towing and in fact many say UHaul won't even rent you a trailer unless you have a proper receiver hitch.