DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 3RD Generation Dodge Ram 2002 to 2008 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > 4.7L PowerTech V8 Specific Topics


Notices


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-26-2012, 01:22 AM
mastercoy1111 mastercoy1111 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: ST
Color: Blk
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
mastercoy1111 is on a distinguished road
Exclamation 02 4.7 in a 04?????

I have a 04 ram with a 4.7, i had a secondarytiming chain issue which in turn caused a vavle issue, anyway, I got a great deal on a re-man engine with less than 1o,ooo miles in a 02 ram, i put the engine in my truck and it will not start???? I was told by someone that the 02 engine is not compatible with my 04 and there was nothing I could do to make it work....Is this true? if not what do I need to do......Help me my Mopar Brothers!!!!! I did hear it run before I purchased it........
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-26-2012, 03:55 AM
SuperiorStyles's Avatar
SuperiorStyles SuperiorStyles is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 305 MIAMI AKA ZOMBIELAND
Age: 31
Posts: 356
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2002 Dodge RAM 4.8L 290ci
Trim Level: Quad Cab SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2002-2007 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 235hp 295lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
SuperiorStyles is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to SuperiorStyles Send a message via Yahoo to SuperiorStyles
Default

ok the 04 has a 32 tooth sprocket on the crack that is only compatible with the 4 plug pcm for you to make it work you will need a 16 tooth sprocket and a 3 plug pcm. You can change out the Sprocket from the engine but doing the PCM change is easier if you got the engine already in. ? Some will agree some won't but My buddy did it and he running good
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:57 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum