DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-29-2012, 09:11 PM
fitz7603 fitz7603 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ny
Age: 41
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 dodge ram
Trim Level: st express
Color: white
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fitz7603 is on a distinguished road
Default cant get oem brake controller

So heres the deal. I recently bought 2012 Ram 1500 5.7 it had factory installed hitch, 7 pin harness and 4 pin. Dealer said he would install for me the intergrated brake controller. Now the problem is the service department said they cant install the oem brake controller the same one that is fitted and comes from the factory because my truck doesnt have the two connectors that are prewired and taped up. My truck only came with one connector so they are telling me I have to get an after market controller with a single connector and it would be screwed to the plastic. Parts guy said he has seen this before and there is no rhyme or reason for it. Sometimes the truck just comes with one connector. This is crap!!! Help!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-29-2012, 11:50 PM
moterhead moterhead is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Western Pa.
Age: 59
Posts: 7
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
moterhead is on a distinguished road
Default

I also just bought a 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn, with the same receiver,7 & 4 pin harness. Mine also didn't come with a brake controller, I also ordered one thru my dealer, also to be installed by them. When I went to pick up my Ram, I got the same story, 1 plug, but not 2. They showed me a factory tech bulletin, explaining the problem. It sounded like a common problem.
Has anyone wired up an aftermarket controller on a 2012? Was it complicated? Which one did you use?
__________________
It's easier to get forgivness, than it is to get permission.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2012, 12:50 AM
Hemiblack's Avatar
Hemiblack Hemiblack is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Little Rock AR
Age: 43
Posts: 50
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: Express
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Hemiblack is on a distinguished road
Default

They do some weird things from the factory don't they. My 2012 came with the factory brake controller and tow package but no hitch. Crazy.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:16 PM
Tom in ct.'s Avatar
Tom in ct. Tom in ct. is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CT. USA
Age: 58
Posts: 45
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: express
Color: dark cherry red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Tom in ct. is on a distinguished road
Default

I installed an aftermarket controller on my 2012 ram. the controller I used is called a prodigy. I found the plug under the dash to the right side of the steering column. took out an existing screw at the bottom of the dash. installed the bracket works perfect. the plug under the dash is gray and square with 2 corners cut at 45 degrees. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:52 PM
TNC TNC is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hawley, TX
Age: 63
Posts: 698
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
TNC is on a distinguished road
Default

If you have EVIC, the factory controller is pretty cool. Still, a quality aftermarket will probably be less expensive, and some of them offer all kinds of bells and whistles. I don't have EVIC in my Express, so I got a Tekonsha P3 with a wiring harness that plugs into the factory harness for about $125. This controller has all kinds of doodads and works in any position. I've been using it in a temporary position, as I'm going to mount it in the existing hole for the factory controller. It snaps in and out of a press-in plug so you can stow it somewhere else if you want, but I'm looking forward to installing it cleanly in the OEM hole and just leaving it there.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P3.jpg (59.6 KB, 110 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-02-2012, 08:39 AM
Ramsail Ramsail is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: East Troy, WI
Posts: 79
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Ramsail is on a distinguished road
Default

I have a used tekonsha P-3 from my old truck that I would sell at a reduced price. PM me if interested.
__________________
Curt front trailer hitch-Access Lorado tonneau cover-Mopar bed rug-Lund Genesis tailgate seal-Steelcraft black nerf bars-Putco SSR Locker bed rails-and Auto Ventshield bug deflector-Husky Liners Molded Mud Flaps-Thule Roof Rack-Thule Goalpost
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-02-2012, 09:12 AM
fitz7603 fitz7603 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: ny
Age: 41
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 dodge ram
Trim Level: st express
Color: white
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
fitz7603 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks! I nenegotiated the brake controller as part of the deal when I bought the truck with the assumption it would be the intergrated controller. Now they gave me an aftermarket controller mounted near my left knee. It's a nice controller and works fine but I just dont want it mounted where it is. I want it built in.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2012, 10:28 PM
snkmug snkmug is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 44
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
snkmug is on a distinguished road
Default

you can add the other harness...The missing harness is the power harness only and only needs a positive, negative, and a can bus connection if you want it to show up on the evic. If you look at the factory controller power plug it has four terminals. Only three are used. Search on here there is a thread on how to do it. The correct harness for the plug can be bought on ebay, or from dodge with the correct part number...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-04-2012, 12:39 PM
Ironsides Ironsides is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 145
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 CC 4X4
Trim Level: SLT Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:44
Ironsides is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snkmug View Post
you can add the other harness...The missing harness is the power harness only and only needs a positive, negative, and a can bus connection if you want it to show up on the evic. If you look at the factory controller power plug it has four terminals. Only three are used. Search on here there is a thread on how to do it. The correct harness for the plug can be bought on ebay, or from dodge with the correct part number...
Actually, it's Canbus +, Canbus -, and a 12V Accessory wire. And Dodge does not sell that harness.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-04-2012, 01:38 PM
snkmug snkmug is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 44
Posts: 85
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
snkmug is on a distinguished road
Default

your not buying the harness, just the replacement connector end...and its a easy install by adding three wires, its been done numerous times..The terminal diagram is on here if you search, and you dont even need the connector if you solder wires to the terminals or use small connectors. Still just a power plug, the main wiring is in the gray plug that all the trucks have...Looks like a dodge connector to me, propably the same one used for something else?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/270755017120...84.m1423.l2649

Last edited by snkmug; 03-04-2012 at 01:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum