DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > Dodge Ram Knowledge Base


Notices

Dodge Ram Knowledge Base Here you can find owner submitted how-to's for performing various mods to your Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #41  
Old 03-30-2012, 12:30 AM
kdramman kdramman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
kdramman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robby5323 View Post
Thanks for the help! I went and messed with it some more. If I hit the lock 3 times no lights on the DB ALL, do have parking lights each time. I check the RF Out sequence and it was the green, red, red. I'm baffled on this one. I wonder if there is something that is keeping the DB ALL from sending the start signal? Some kind of theft prevention or something in the computer encryption?

I am whipped at this point.
Sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with it. I felt like this when I was first getting mine hooked up. I was about ready to throw it.

I have an idea to see if it is communicating with your truck's mux system.

Use the black 10 pin harness to see if the door locks work, and then manually remote start it by using the other wires in the black 10 pin harness.

You can use the GWR, Ignition, and Starter wires to start the truck.

This would let you know if the DB-ALL is able to send the right signals.

I did this before because I thought mine wasn't working either.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #42  
Old 03-30-2012, 11:02 AM
robby5323 robby5323 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 43
Posts: 105
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Express
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
robby5323 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdramman View Post
Sorry to hear you're having so much trouble with it. I felt like this when I was first getting mine hooked up. I was about ready to throw it.

I have an idea to see if it is communicating with your truck's mux system.

Use the black 10 pin harness to see if the door locks work, and then manually remote start it by using the other wires in the black 10 pin harness.

You can use the GWR, Ignition, and Starter wires to start the truck.

This would let you know if the DB-ALL is able to send the right signals.

I did this before because I thought mine wasn't working either.
Thanks for the ideas. I will try and figure which wires are which on the black harness and how/where to connect them to give this a go.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-30-2012, 10:30 PM
kdramman kdramman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
kdramman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robby5323 View Post
Thanks for the ideas. I will try and figure which wires are which on the black harness and how/where to connect them to give this a go.
Here is a link to the manual that shows all the harnesses.

http://www.xpresskit.com/DocumentDow...irmwareid=2573
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-31-2012, 11:16 AM
robby5323 robby5323 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 43
Posts: 105
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Express
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
robby5323 is on a distinguished road
Default

It looks like I can't find a way to try the black harness wire connections without cutting and splicing into the factory wiring? I can't bring myself to do it on a brand new truck with only 2000 miles on it with the hope I might get lucky...
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-31-2012, 10:10 PM
CaddyRam's Avatar
CaddyRam CaddyRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Age: 44
Posts: 198
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Ram
Trim Level: Slt Big Horn CC
Color: Brilliant Black
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
CaddyRam is on a distinguished road
Default

Great post. Thanks for the write up.
__________________
Mufflex18,limo tint,DNX 6960w/rearview camera, sirrius satellite,DVD,Nav,radar detector/video camera mount, Damplifier.Ez down tailgate assist,bed extender, LineX,relocated rearwindow switch,custom twin filter air intake,custom front/rear center consoles w10'' Kappa and LED lighting.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 04-01-2012, 12:53 PM
kdramman kdramman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
kdramman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robby5323 View Post
It looks like I can't find a way to try the black harness wire connections without cutting and splicing into the factory wiring? I can't bring myself to do it on a brand new truck with only 2000 miles on it with the hope I might get lucky...
You don't have to cut or splice into anything. The DB-ALL handles all the functions through the CAN bus system. The T-Harness takes care of all that.

To start the truck with the 10 pin black harness, you simply put the GWR wire (#10 Blue/White) to ground, then 12v to the ignition wire (#9 Pink), and then 12v to the start wire(#8 violet) long enough to start the truck. This will "remotely" start the truck through the DB-ALL.

To get the DB-ALL to lock the doors, you pulse the #1 Green wire to ground. Just touching the wire to ground, will cause the DB-ALL LED to flash and the doors will lock. The same thing can be done with the unlock.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 04-02-2012, 05:14 AM
thines thines is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 71
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
thines is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teenRam View Post
Wow. How much does the dealership charge for something like this?
Here's what my dealer quoted.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0970.jpg (120.3 KB, 151 views)
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 04-05-2012, 09:54 PM
osow0029 osow0029 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
osow0029 is on a distinguished road
Default

I tried installing on my 2012 Ram 1500 and got the same result. i push the lock button three times and nothing happens. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 04-08-2012, 12:59 AM
kdramman kdramman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
kdramman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osow0029 View Post
I tried installing on my 2012 Ram 1500 and got the same result. i push the lock button three times and nothing happens. Any ideas?
Not sure whats up with the 2012's. Maybe the Xpresskit needs an updated firmware to work with the newest trucks. Ill dive into it and see what I can figure out.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 04-08-2012, 11:06 PM
kdramman kdramman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Ram Crew Cab 4x4
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Brilliant Black Crystal Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
kdramman will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osow0029 View Post
I tried installing on my 2012 Ram 1500 and got the same result. i push the lock button three times and nothing happens. Any ideas?
Do you have a manual Transmission?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum