DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-09-2012, 07:18 PM
1CleanRam 1CleanRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leamington Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
1CleanRam is on a distinguished road
Default Audio Questions

Looking at putting a system into my 2012 Ram 1500 Big Horn Crew Cab without Alpine system.

Kenwood DDX 419 deck

Kenwood 5 channel amp

Door speakers and single 12" in Fox Box

My question is: do i need a radio interface like the c2r-chy4 (is this the correct one?) -there are 2 audio shops in town and 1 said i need it and the other said i didn't....just looking to clarify this. I apolagise if this has been asked before, thank you!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:12 PM
rtkman's Avatar
rtkman rtkman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belleville Ontario Canada
Posts: 607
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 5
Rep:167
rtkman has a spectacular aura aboutrtkman has a spectacular aura about
Default

I'd use one. You dont _have_ to have it but it saves hacking the factory wiring. It will give you the remote turn on etc and its plug and play. Do you have factory steering wheel controls?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:17 PM
1CleanRam 1CleanRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leamington Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
1CleanRam is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes i have the factory steering wheel controls. In my previous car (2001 Chrysler 300m) i bought a module that adapted the steering wheel controls with my kenwood single din deck. This should work, also, rtkman what did you pay for the c2r-chy4 being that you are Canadian? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:01 PM
rtkman's Avatar
rtkman rtkman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belleville Ontario Canada
Posts: 607
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 5
Rep:167
rtkman has a spectacular aura aboutrtkman has a spectacular aura about
Default

I bought my stuff at Sonic Electronics in the states. It was cheaper to buy it there and ship than to buy it here. ( I bought a nav unit too) I used teh SWI-RC for my steering wheel controls and it just plugs into the C2R-CHY4.

PAC C2R-CHY4 (C2R-CHY4v1): 1 @ $79.99
PAC SWI-RC: 1 @ $52.99
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:36 PM
1CleanRam 1CleanRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leamington Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
1CleanRam is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you for the info, I will look into it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:55 PM
1CleanRam 1CleanRam is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Leamington Ontario, Canada
Posts: 27
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
1CleanRam is on a distinguished road
Default

From reading pac's website and google searching, I am understanding that the 2012 models need a different version? is this true? will the c2r-chy4v1 still work? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2012, 07:45 PM
rtkman's Avatar
rtkman rtkman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Belleville Ontario Canada
Posts: 607
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 5
Rep:167
rtkman has a spectacular aura aboutrtkman has a spectacular aura about
Default

Yup as long as the revision is past 1.1.4a if you have the alpine system it will work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum