DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum

Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 04-16-2012, 10:23 PM
Banned

Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Sport Crew Cab
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep:26
Miami Son is on a distinguished road
Default Was happy with paintjob...until today

Did my first hand waxing today and it left me less than satisfied with my truck's paintjob. None of the railroad dust or other defects I've read about in here, but I did notice a lot of what appear to be water spots all over the truck. Unfortunately, no amount of wax on, wax off will remove them. They appear to be burned into the clear coat. Since I have some experience with painting vehicles I know what to look for as far as issues with application. These look more like the truck was exposed to something like contaminated water or well water, which is prevalent here in Florida for irrigation or watering of lawns on rural or commercial properties. I'm guessing that the dealership uses well water for their greenery and that it gets on the cars. This water has a high mineral content (over time it will leave rust spots on walls and sidewalks) and if left to dry on the vehicle in the hot Florida sun I could see it doing this.