DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Powertrain > Cummins Diesel Specific Topics

Notices

Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Old 04-17-2012, 12:01 AM
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer

Vehicle: 1998 Ram 2500
Engine: 1998-1998 359ci (5.9L) Cummins ISB 24-valve Diesel I6 235hp 420lb/ft (manual), 215hp 420lb/ft(auto)
Rep:10
zackmx is on a distinguished road
Default 1998.5 24v seems slow

I am new to the cummins motors just got a new to me truck with 150 000 miles and it seems super slow. I dont know how fast these things are without a chip. Its a standard and the guy before me must have had a edge in it. He put 4" straight pipe and cold air intake and had all the fancy gauges but no tuner. Is it slow just because its a standard maybe Im expecting too much from this truck? I know the D-max that I have driven in the past were way faster then this truck. It makes about 35psi fuel pressure and runs around 20lbs of boost if im really honking on it. I would be scared to try and pass someone on a 2 lane highway. Maybe I just need a tuner? What would be a normal 0-60 time for one of these trucks stock. Any info would be much appreciated.
Sponsored links
Old 04-19-2012, 12:36 PM
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member

Vehicle: 2001 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Silver
Engine: 2001-2003 359ci (5.9L HO) Cummins ISB 24-Valve Diesel I6 245hp 505lb/ft (6-Speed Manual)
Rep:19
MERF-09 is on a distinguished road