DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 4th Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04-15-2012, 08:42 PM
durango durango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram, 2010 Ram
Trim Level: SLT, Laramie
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
durango is on a distinguished road
Default 430 won't Uconnect to VA76r Phone Book

Cannot get phone book from Motorola Tundra to load into 430 head unit, yet same phone has no problem loading phone book onto all my 730 units in other MOPAR vehicles. Chrysler tech support says check back monthly to see if they've written an update to address this, but it seems odd that it would work fine with the 730 units but not with the 430. It will dial and receive, and the in-vehicle phone book works - just can't get the Tundra's book to load.
Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-15-2012, 09:04 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 19,026
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 20
Rep:2615
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

Is your 430 the RHB 430n or the RBZ 430
the 3 letters are on the radios face, lower right corner


there may be a better place to ask this question, on this site,
http://www.ramforumz.com/search.php?searchid=1960118

we have a member that seems to know a lot about d/l phone books, they have access to several brands of cell phones
it usually has something to do with the phones setting & the way you accept the settings
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle

Last edited by GTyankee; 04-15-2012 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2012, 04:23 AM
durango durango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram, 2010 Ram
Trim Level: SLT, Laramie
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
durango is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTyankee View Post
Is your 430 the RHB 430n or the RBZ 430
the 3 letters are on the radios face, lower right corner


there may be a better place to ask this question, on this site,
http://www.ramforumz.com/search.php?searchid=1960118

we have a member that seems to know a lot about d/l phone books, they have access to several brands of cell phones
it usually has something to do with the phones setting & the way you accept the settings
GTYankee - No "n" - just the RBZ head. My 730's are all "n"s - maybe that's the key difference in one (430) not working while the others do? Not sure how Navi could make a difference since the phone book isn't necessary for that, though...

I tried your link, but it goes to nothing...

In addition to Chrysler not being able to help, AT&T (carrier) couldn't help, and neither could Motorola. Other than to tell me there isn't a lot of standardization in the industry...
The Tundra (VA76r) isn't on Chrysler's list of phones they've tested - but, like I said, it DOES work on the 730's.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-17-2012, 02:35 PM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 801
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

Hello GTyankee & Durango,
Let''s see what we can do here. First, I'd like to explain that Chrysler has 3 different Uconnect suppliers and it depends on which radio manufacturer as to which supplier is supporting your radio. Your 730N is a Harman radio and has a built Uconnect module SW. The RBZ is a Mitsubishi radio and has an external module for Uconnect. The systems do have slight variances. However, the PB really hasn't been one.
So now on to the issue that you are having. I don't have this phone to work with So I'll have to ask some questions. I did look online for specs and I didn't see anything about the Tundra supporting PBAP (phone book access profile). This is the BT profile the phone needs to support for automatic PB download.
When you paired to the 730N radios did you have to do anything for the PB to download to the radio? Did you have to push the contacts one at a time? What year and model vehicle are the 730N radios in? (mostly curious here). What is the RBZ in? I see that in your info area, it looks like you have a 2010 & 2011 vehicle.



Quote:
Originally Posted by durango View Post
GTYankee - No "n" - just the RBZ head. My 730's are all "n"s - maybe that's the key difference in one (430) not working while the others do? Not sure how Navi could make a difference since the phone book isn't necessary for that, though...

I tried your link, but it goes to nothing...

In addition to Chrysler not being able to help, AT&T (carrier) couldn't help, and neither could Motorola. Other than to tell me there isn't a lot of standardization in the industry...
The Tundra (VA76r) isn't on Chrysler's list of phones they've tested - but, like I said, it DOES work on the 730's.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2012, 02:57 AM
durango durango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram, 2010 Ram
Trim Level: SLT, Laramie
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
durango is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Hello GTyankee & Durango,
Let''s see what we can do here. First, I'd like to explain that Chrysler has 3 different Uconnect suppliers and it depends on which radio manufacturer as to which supplier is supporting your radio. Your 730N is a Harman radio and has a built Uconnect module SW. The RBZ is a Mitsubishi radio and has an external module for Uconnect. The systems do have slight variances. However, the PB really hasn't been one.
So now on to the issue that you are having. I don't have this phone to work with So I'll have to ask some questions. I did look online for specs and I didn't see anything about the Tundra supporting PBAP (phone book access profile). This is the BT profile the phone needs to support for automatic PB download.
When you paired to the 730N radios did you have to do anything for the PB to download to the radio? Did you have to push the contacts one at a time? What year and model vehicle are the 730N radios in? (mostly curious here). What is the RBZ in? I see that in your info area, it looks like you have a 2010 & 2011 vehicle.
Wow - it sounds like you at least have more than the usual familiarity with the MOPAR radios - more than the folks I've spoken to at Chrysler!

When I paired the Tundra to the 730N's, I did nothing more or different than with the 430 - I simply followed the on-screen or voice instructions, where you enter a four digit code, and then while the head is searching for the phone, you tell the phone to "search for device" and it looks for the head unit. Once the phone finds the head unit, it asks for the four digit code, and then the connection is established. No further action was necessary to load the PB - and every time I use any of these 730N's they work immediately (incl. access to the PB) and I don't have to do anything except make sure the bluetooth is ON with the phone.

Right now I have two other 2011 730N's, and one 2010 730N - and in the last year I traded off a 2007, a 2008, and a 2010 with the 730N's which also worked with the PB in the Tundra. (yes, altho this is not my first Chrysler rodeo, it is my first 430!) I have another blue-toothed vehicle that I couldn't figure out the PB connection if my life depended on it, but that's another story and I don't want to disparage another brand (SOB - some other brand) on this forum. (we can leave it at the collaboration between the English and the German leave a car that is like no other...)
But since I have not had any problems with the PB on any of the other head units, in the varying years, I'm puzzled. Maybe it has to do with the mfr of the heads?
Of possible interest - even though I now have two '11 730's, and just recently had two '10 730's - not a one operates exactly the same as the others. (could there be more mfr's of these than those you note?) Slight differences, but different all the same. The two '11 730N's are both in Jeeps, but they probably have more significant differences than the others!
Oh yes, the RBZ is in a Ram 1500.

Thanks for burning up a few brain cells trying to make sense of this. I just finished off my Income Taxes so have few brain cells left for anything tonight!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:16 AM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 19,026
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 20
Rep:2615
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

I am not saying that this will fix your issues
when they send out an upgrade, it usually has more fixes than they tell you about

i found this & it may help you
They may even have newer updates then this
-----------------------------------------------------------------

SUBJECT:
RBZ Radio Software Enhancements


NUMBER: 08-028-10 REV. A
GROUP: Electrical
DATE: November 02, 2010
SYMPTOM/CONDITION:
· The display may appear to be dimly lit when in backup camera mode (if equipped).
· Screen fonts to small or unclear.
· Video playback, display to bright.
· Audio playback, sound quality/frequency response could be improved.
· Hands free call information does not display caller ID.
· Bluetooth streaming audio information is incomplete.
DIAGNOSIS:
If the customer experiences any listed Symptom/Condition(s) perform the following:
1. Check the radio software version.
a. Press “Menu” button on the radio.
b. Press “System Setup” touch screen soft key.
c. Press “System Information” touch screen soft key.
d. The software level is the number reported after the word “Application”.
2. Is the radio software version at 8.05, or greater?
a. YES >>> This service bulletin does not apply. Further diagnosis may be required.
b. NO >>>> Perform the repair procedure.
PARTS REQUIRED:
Qty. Part No. Description
AR (1) 68092693AA Software Disk
REPAIR PROCEDURE:
NOTE: If the software update process is interrupted/aborted, the process should be
restarted.
1. Start the vehicle.
2. Install the software disk into the radio CD drive and follow the instructions on the
screen.
NOTE: Do not cycle the ignition during the update process.
3. Once the update is completed eject the disk.
4. Verify that the radio software version is at 8.05.
a. Press “Menu” button on the radio.
b. Press “System Setup” touch screen soft key.
c. Press “System Information” touch screen soft key.
d. The software level is the number reported after the word “Application”.
5. Using wiTECH clear any DTC's that may have been set in other modules during
software upgrade .
POLICY:
Reimbursable within the provisions of the warranty
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle

Last edited by GTyankee; 04-18-2012 at 03:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-18-2012, 03:35 AM
durango durango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram, 2010 Ram
Trim Level: SLT, Laramie
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
durango is on a distinguished road
Default

INTERESTING! Thanks - I'll go out tomorrow in the daylight and see what version I have. But what caught my eye immediately is the first symptom - my display is dimmer than the 730's when the backup camera is on! Too coincidental I say! I haven't complained about it figuring it's just old age creeping up on me...but maybe this will fix that too. Fingers are crossed!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-18-2012, 02:03 PM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 801
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

well the old saying that "there's more than one way to skin a cat" kind of applies here. I did some looking online for specs on the Tundra. I found that it doesn't support PBAP (phone book access profile). This is the BT profile that is supported by Uconnect (at least the supplier for the Mitsubishi radios). It is a more reliable and also is the newer BT profile. The Phone supports "AT" commands. (older technology). {AT = Attention} and is followed by a command. With "AT" commands it's like using an old dial up modem, slow and sometimes doesn't work well. Unfortunately the BT specs are not real strict and companies can at times have a choice of how to handle a feature.
I sent an email out to a friend @ Motorola about this and maybe some help. I'll let you know what I hear.



Quote:
Originally Posted by durango View Post
INTERESTING! Thanks - I'll go out tomorrow in the daylight and see what version I have. But what caught my eye immediately is the first symptom - my display is dimmer than the 730's when the backup camera is on! Too coincidental I say! I haven't complained about it figuring it's just old age creeping up on me...but maybe this will fix that too. Fingers are crossed!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-18-2012, 04:05 PM
durango durango is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 17
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram, 2010 Ram
Trim Level: SLT, Laramie
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
durango is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
well the old saying that "there's more than one way to skin a cat" kind of applies here. I did some looking online for specs on the Tundra. I found that it doesn't support PBAP (phone book access profile). This is the BT profile that is supported by Uconnect (at least the supplier for the Mitsubishi radios). It is a more reliable and also is the newer BT profile. The Phone supports "AT" commands. (older technology). {AT = Attention} and is followed by a command. With "AT" commands it's like using an old dial up modem, slow and sometimes doesn't work well. Unfortunately the BT specs are not real strict and companies can at times have a choice of how to handle a feature.
I sent an email out to a friend @ Motorola about this and maybe some help. I'll let you know what I hear.
Interesting, xsdbs...it (Tundra) may not support it, but it sure works fine on the 730N's! No need to follow with any commands - turn it on, and there's the phone book ready to select verbally from. (actually, it does take a few seconds to load and/or connect)
And knock on wood, I never have any troubles with it on the 730N's. Hopefully your friend knows something.

I checked the software, and next to application it says "20.02.01" - which is much higher than 8.0. But I'm still intrigued by the comment regarding the dimmer screen from the backup camera - too coincidental...

(I don't want to get a new phone as the Tundra is pretty much bullet proof - and I tend to be rough with my phones...at least three other models I have had drowned and the Tundra's water-resistant, and, I can throw it - literally - on the ground and it doesn't act like anything happened!)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:19 AM
xsdbs xsdbs is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Over Here, Hi
Age: 54
Posts: 801
Gender: Male
Vehicle: green flying carpet
Trim Level: upper and lower
Rep Power: 0
Rep:73
xsdbs will become famous soon enough
Default

It's really 2 things causing the issue, The phone doesn't support PBAP which is the newer BT profile but it supports the "AT" commands. The 730N also supports the older technology "AT" commands. It's just 2 different ways of doing something and most newer phones for the last couple years have started to support PBAP. However I am still looking into this for you. Ok.



Quote:
Originally Posted by durango View Post
Interesting, xsdbs...it (Tundra) may not support it, but it sure works fine on the 730N's! No need to follow with any commands - turn it on, and there's the phone book ready to select verbally from. (actually, it does take a few seconds to load and/or connect)
And knock on wood, I never have any troubles with it on the 730N's. Hopefully your friend knows something.

I checked the software, and next to application it says "20.02.01" - which is much higher than 8.0. But I'm still intrigued by the comment regarding the dimmer screen from the backup camera - too coincidental...

(I don't want to get a new phone as the Tundra is pretty much bullet proof - and I tend to be rough with my phones...at least three other models I have had drowned and the Tundra's water-resistant, and, I can throw it - literally - on the ground and it doesn't act like anything happened!)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:49 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum