DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2012 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2012 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2012 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05-16-2012, 11:38 PM
quarrymot quarrymot is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Naples FL
Age: 47
Posts: 19
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Mineral Grey
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
quarrymot is on a distinguished road
Default Remote Start

I bought a Mopar remote start kit, Has anyone fitted a remote start kit, i wanted to know what the dealer will charge to fit it, or can i fit it myself and just have dealer program it? not sure if i fit it will the car still drive to the dealer to program?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-16-2012, 11:55 PM
moonovermyhemi moonovermyhemi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: El Segundo, California
Age: 33
Posts: 23
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Express
Trim Level: Express
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
moonovermyhemi is on a distinguished road
Default

The dealership quoted me $450 for labor. Which is why I went another route. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2012, 11:58 PM
quills's Avatar
quills quills is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 43
Posts: 182
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Tequila Sunrise Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:75
quills will become famous soon enough
Default

Have you tried a local stereo shop?
__________________
2012 Ram Quad Cab Tequila Sunrise Pearl.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:41 AM
Asur Asur is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6,850
Gender: Male
Vehicle: .
Rep Power: 15
Rep:4373
Asur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond reputeAsur has a reputation beyond repute
Default

It varies, some will charge 50$ to do it, others are pissed at you for doing it yourself so they charge you 100$ sometimes more. Call your dealer, ask him how much before you do the job. Also, when you get it programmed, see about the alarm function, seems that they can enable the alarm function when you install the remote starter but I talked to a few people and some say yes, some say no???, so please let us know what happens when you get it done.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2012, 07:34 PM
highwayman1's Avatar
highwayman1 highwayman1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sealy, Texas
Age: 57
Posts: 76
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
highwayman1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Mine was $189 , plus the cost of kit which I got cheap due to someone ordering it and not wanting it. Just love it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2012, 07:43 PM
Mig954 Mig954 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 42
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 Crew Cab 4X4
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Bright White
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Mig954 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quarrymot View Post
I bought a Mopar remote start kit, Has anyone fitted a remote start kit, i wanted to know what the dealer will charge to fit it, or can i fit it myself and just have dealer program it? not sure if i fit it will the car still drive to the dealer to program?
I was charged $333.34 for the Remote Start, installed and with two new FOBIKs programmed. I thought the was a good deal. They charge $180 each for just the FOBIKs when you don't buy the remote start.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2012, 08:04 PM
Techno Tim Techno Tim is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Age: 51
Posts: 54
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram Express
Trim Level: Reg Cab Express
Color: True Blue Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
Techno Tim is on a distinguished road
Default

I was quoted $475 installed with full 3/36 warranty coverage. According to the directions, there is programming required before and after install of the WIN module, so the dealer would probably need to install at least the WIN module anyway... You might save a few bucks by installing the other parts yourself but you'd probably only get the 12 mo/12k mi Mopar warranty. Personally, it's worth the extra peace of mind.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-18-2012, 12:36 PM
robby5323 robby5323 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Age: 44
Posts: 105
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram Express
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
robby5323 is on a distinguished road
Default

http://ramforumz.com/showthread.php?t=107176

That link will take you to a much cheaper route. I did this for my 2012. Works like a champ once I got it all figured out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2012, 04:57 PM
MoparDude's Avatar
MoparDude MoparDude is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chestermere Alberta
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 1500 Hemi Crew
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Deep Cherry Red Crystal Pearlcoat
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
MoparDude is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quarrymot View Post
I bought a Mopar remote start kit, Has anyone fitted a remote start kit, i wanted to know what the dealer will charge to fit it, or can i fit it myself and just have dealer program it? not sure if i fit it will the car still drive to the dealer to program?
You can pre-install the antenna and the hood latch which saves some time, but not the ignition switch, that has to be done during the flash procedure, as I understand, trying to do this on your own can render the module inactive... which is a bummer!

I am having mine flashed today by a buddy who's a Mopar tech... can't tell you what he's charging me...
__________________
'12 RAM, '08 R/T Avenger, '66 500 ci. Belvedere
You save the environment, I'll save my dignity.

Last edited by MoparDude; 05-18-2012 at 04:58 PM. Reason: shpellin'
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors