DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-12-2012, 09:21 PM
CRANKYPISTOL's Avatar
CRANKYPISTOL CRANKYPISTOL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 157
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
CRANKYPISTOL is on a distinguished road
Default Question on 2011 Brake Controller

I have a 2011 Ram 1500 4x4 Big Horn

I have looked under the dash and only one 4 wire plug is present.


Question is:
Do they make a controller I don't have to splice or do they make a pigtail for the mopar controller yet? Just don't want to splice wires on a new truck. However I need a controller.

What are my best options?
I have read several threads but nothing confirmed on a pigtail on the mopar controller!

HELP!!!
__________________
I work for Goodyear as a store manager! If you have any tire questions feel free to ask. If I do not know, I will find out.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:14 AM
itsreese itsreese is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 outdoorsman
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
itsreese is on a distinguished road
Default

are you trying to install the OEM in dash brake controller or an after market one?

i have had both. i had an 09 slt 4x4 and the pigtail and plug is actually the same as 50-08 rams. so i just went to northern tool, got a cheap EBC and the $8 pigtail for the 08 and down rams... splice the EBC to the pigatil then it plugged right ino the grey??? plug under the steering console. worked fine.. brakes, lights, flashers... i tow a toy hauler on weekends so i didnt want to permanently mount it by screwing into my dash, so i plugged it in, and left enough slack i dropped it into my drivers side cup holder.... i know not the best idea...

i traded up into a 11 outdoors man and got the integrated EBC below the headlamp switch now, and man i love that thing, works as good as it can and looks clean, and i dont have to worry about mouting or removing. it only costs a few hundred and install is about as cheap. the dealership gave me a line about needing to be facotr installed becuase it commincates with the onboard computer, which may be true... becuse when i adjust braking, it shows up on my EVIC.

If you plan to keep it for EVAR, get the dodge EBC, if you are going to upgrade, then get el Cheapo and have them throw in one in your next deal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2012, 03:25 PM
CRANKYPISTOL's Avatar
CRANKYPISTOL CRANKYPISTOL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 157
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
CRANKYPISTOL is on a distinguished road
Default

I want the OEM one but I onl have one of the two needed plugs. How do I get the second plug?
__________________
I work for Goodyear as a store manager! If you have any tire questions feel free to ask. If I do not know, I will find out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2012, 03:45 PM
EVS1's Avatar
EVS1 EVS1 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lubeck, WV
Posts: 113
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram Sport
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
EVS1 is on a distinguished road
Default

Pull the little cubbyhole clear out and look for the wire taped up to another harness. Sometimes that is where they hide them.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2012, 03:53 PM
CRANKYPISTOL's Avatar
CRANKYPISTOL CRANKYPISTOL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 157
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
CRANKYPISTOL is on a distinguished road
Default

I was able to see EVERYTHING under the dash! No other plug. Also, is the second plug only nessasary if I want it to show on the evic or does it need it to work?
__________________
I work for Goodyear as a store manager! If you have any tire questions feel free to ask. If I do not know, I will find out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2012, 04:34 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 20,300
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 21
Rep:2657
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

damn, this is like a rats nest & i have NOT even pulled off the insert above the E brake release lever

__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2012, 06:32 PM
itsreese itsreese is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 outdoorsman
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
itsreese is on a distinguished road
Default

i just looked and my factory EBC plugs into a slot just above the brake pedal, same place as my 08. there is still one unused connector, not sure what for. if you cant find it, i will see if i can get a pic of it. for ya
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2012, 06:50 PM
CRANKYPISTOL's Avatar
CRANKYPISTOL CRANKYPISTOL is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: N. Carolina
Age: 38
Posts: 157
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Mineral Gray
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
CRANKYPISTOL is on a distinguished road
Default

I only see one 4 plug connector. There should be two.
__________________
I work for Goodyear as a store manager! If you have any tire questions feel free to ask. If I do not know, I will find out.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2012, 07:41 PM
itsreese itsreese is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 22
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 outdoorsman
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:12
itsreese is on a distinguished road
Default

heres a pic of mine. the bottom plug with the green and yellow goes to my ebc. if thats not there.... call dodge for sure because its pinned to that metal bracket. its not a loose wire
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2012-06-13_19-23-08_877-1-1.jpg (28.3 KB, 49 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2012, 08:07 PM
300MAG 300MAG is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North of Atlanta, GA
Posts: 271
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Deep Cherry Red
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:23
300MAG is on a distinguished road
Default

do a search, it's preety common for not all trucks to come from the factory with both plugs. you can get it to work but you will need to splice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors