DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Dodge Ram Wheels And Tires
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Dodge Ram Wheels And Tires General discussion related to wheels and tires.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-07-2012, 01:02 AM
1ofakind's Avatar
1ofakind 1ofakind is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edson, Alberta, Canada
Age: 21
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: maximum steel
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
1ofakind is on a distinguished road
Default 35" tires affect mds?

hi guys, im going to be putting bilstein adjustable shocks on my 2012 sport and some 33" tires or 35" tires 12.5" wide. i have heard of people with 35's say there mds (eco light on dash) doesnt come on anymore unless going down a hill. So im wondering if anyone has experience with this and if maybe i shouldnt be running that big of a tire, i still want my mds to work as it should. Possibly the 33x12.5 will be better. thanks guys
__________________
6k Lows & Fogs / 40" SR / 308's / 325 60 20's / Husky Mats / 5% Tint / Debadged / Wrapped Dash / 2" Level / Ez-Down /
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-07-2012, 03:27 AM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 20,310
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 21
Rep:2657
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

The ONLY way to shut your MDS off, is to never put it in Drive on the 2011 & 2012
because you can't change the programming

earlier models can be reprogrammed, 2010 & older Rams
2500 & 3500 models don't have MDS, but it the same block
__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2012, 12:41 PM
1ofakind's Avatar
1ofakind 1ofakind is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edson, Alberta, Canada
Age: 21
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: maximum steel
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
1ofakind is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTyankee View Post
The ONLY way to shut your MDS off, is to never put it in Drive on the 2011 & 2012
because you can't change the programming

earlier models can be reprogrammed, 2010 & older Rams
2500 & 3500 models don't have MDS, but it the same block
sorry thats not what i was asking, i was trying to ask if the mds will be affected with the bigger tires? id still like my mds to work but i have heard of people with larger tires than stock say their mds wont come on anymore because the engine is working harder.

sorry im not trying to shut it off i just would like to know if it will still work the same with larger tires

thanks
__________________
6k Lows & Fogs / 40" SR / 308's / 325 60 20's / Husky Mats / 5% Tint / Debadged / Wrapped Dash / 2" Level / Ez-Down /
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2012, 07:56 AM
1500ram12's Avatar
1500ram12 1500ram12 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NY
Age: 35
Posts: 290
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2015 Dodge ram 2500
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: Granite Metalic
Engine: 2014-20?? 392ci (6.4L) Hemi V8 410hp 429lb/ft
Rep Power: 4
Rep:81
1500ram12 will become famous soon enough
Default

yeah it will affect the mds. I have 285/70/17's on mine and the mds doesn't come on nearly as much.
__________________
2015 Ram 2500 Tradesman, 275/70/18 Fierce Attitude M/T, 18x9 ?wheels, Custom 13' OEM projectors, 55w 5k HID's, 7" premium display cluster swap, Alpine INE-Z928HD HU, RF 200s amp, 2 10" MTX subs, Factory bumper with fogs added
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2012, 08:22 AM
Gantman's Avatar
Gantman Gantman is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ram Country
Age: 46
Posts: 1,963
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 4x4 Regular Cab w/8ft bed
Trim Level: Tradesman 4x4
Color: White
Engine: 2013-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 395hp 410lb/ft
Rep Power: 5
Rep:974
Gantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to beholdGantman is a splendid one to behold
Default

I will agree with 1500ram12 because I believe the MDS program operates between a set engine rpm and wheel speed. If you change either, most definitely the outcome will be either more often or less frequent. With the stock 275/60-20's(32.99") on my Ram, my ECO likes to hit between 1500 and 1800rpm depending on throttle manipulation. At 72mph freeway speeds on cruise control, running at 1800rpm, on level ground, the ECO will hold. Any heavy head wind or uphill to push the rpms above that 1800 mark on my truck will pull her out of ECO mode. I suggest that you invest in a Speedometer Calibrator to adjust for change in tire size and see if that keeps everything in sync bud. Hypertech's Speedo Calibrator will work on our 11's and 12's, just no tuning capabilities.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2012, 12:03 AM
1ofakind's Avatar
1ofakind 1ofakind is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Edson, Alberta, Canada
Age: 21
Posts: 146
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: maximum steel
Rep Power: 0
Rep:13
1ofakind is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gantman View Post
I will agree with 1500ram12 because I believe the MDS program operates between a set engine rpm and wheel speed. If you change either, most definitely the outcome will be either more often or less frequent. With the stock 275/60-20's(32.99") on my Ram, my ECO likes to hit between 1500 and 1800rpm depending on throttle manipulation. At 72mph freeway speeds on cruise control, running at 1800rpm, on level ground, the ECO will hold. Any heavy head wind or uphill to push the rpms above that 1800 mark on my truck will pull her out of ECO mode. I suggest that you invest in a Speedometer Calibrator to adjust for change in tire size and see if that keeps everything in sync bud. Hypertech's Speedo Calibrator will work on our 11's and 12's, just no tuning capabilities.

ok thanks man thats all i needed to know, saw the hypertech i might get it once i get my new tires and stuff.
__________________
6k Lows & Fogs / 40" SR / 308's / 325 60 20's / Husky Mats / 5% Tint / Debadged / Wrapped Dash / 2" Level / Ez-Down /
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors