1998 dodge ram speedometer Problems!!!! PLEASE HELP!!! - DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum
DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums & Owners Club! - Ram Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, & Solutions - Maintenance & Repair > 2ND Generation Dodge Ram 1994 to 2001 Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 2nd Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Vendor Highlight! - Check these guys out for great deals on Parts and Accessories!
Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:45 PM
wickham94 wickham94 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fort Plain,Ny
Age: 23
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: sport
Color: red
Engine: 1994-1997 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 230hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wickham94 is on a distinguished road
Default 1998 dodge ram speedometer Problems!!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

my gauge cluster likes to work when it wants you can tap the speedo and it will come back on i mean everything in the cluster goes down and then comes back up i really would like to fix this it drives me nuts. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-2012, 04:48 PM
99gp's Avatar
99gp 99gp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,520
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:155
99gp has a spectacular aura about99gp has a spectacular aura about
Default

I have the same problem in one of our 89 chevy plow truck. I did a search and it is also a jeep problem. looks like a lot of times is just a lose connections.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:04 AM
wickham94 wickham94 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fort Plain,Ny
Age: 23
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: sport
Color: red
Engine: 1994-1997 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 230hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wickham94 is on a distinguished road
Default

I have taken it out and tried to reseat it in the dock and it does the same thing how did you fix yours ?
Reply With Quote
 
  #4  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:06 AM
99gp's Avatar
99gp 99gp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,520
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:155
99gp has a spectacular aura about99gp has a spectacular aura about
Default

I haven't fixed it yet. Just pound the dash and they come back. It is my back up plow truck so i haven't really thought about ripping it apart.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2012, 09:28 AM
wickham94 wickham94 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fort Plain,Ny
Age: 23
Posts: 3
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: sport
Color: red
Engine: 1994-1997 360ci (5.9L) Magnum V8 230hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
wickham94 is on a distinguished road
Default

lol i have to push my panel below the speedo in hard and it comes back but somertimes it goes right back down this is everything in the cluster im talking about i just want it back full time.when you shut the truck off from it reading every gauge it shows nothing when you go to start it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2012, 11:48 AM
99gp's Avatar
99gp 99gp is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,520
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2004 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: Black
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 6
Rep:155
99gp has a spectacular aura about99gp has a spectacular aura about
Default

Yup, i lose everything also(granted its an 89 chevy so is different).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-15-2012, 07:18 PM
obsidian231 obsidian231 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: mn
Age: 40
Posts: 9
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 96 dodge ram 1500 4x4
Trim Level: slt
Color: red
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
obsidian231 is on a distinguished road
Default

I know most likely what the problem is.... You have to take out the cluster and on the back where the main harness plugs into you have to resolder all the pins that the harness plugs into on the cluster. They get cold cracked from vibration or lack of support of main harness through the years and lose their connection. Try not to over heat when resoldering. make sure soldering iron is up to temp then touch pin and add a small amount of new solder to every pin your redoing then should work fine. You most likely wont see the cracking around the pin unless you have a magnify glass. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors