DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 4TH Generation Dodge Ram 2009+ Dodge Ram Trucks > Body & Interior


Notices

Body & Interior 4th Gen Dodge Ram Body & Interior Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-03-2012, 03:35 PM
Ramajama's Avatar
Ramajama Ramajama is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: In a house
Posts: 389
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 R/T
Trim Level: R/T Sport
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:24
Ramajama is on a distinguished road
Default Swapping out instrument clusters in 4rth Gen

I have a 2012 Express. Ive slowly been upgrading it with great success. My current instrument cluster is the basic model. It has no EVIC in the cluster.

I have seen OEM clusters for sale with the EVIC. Is this just a plug and play swap out? Can it be done?

Thanks!!
Ramajama.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-03-2012, 03:38 PM
4x4Hemi's Avatar
4x4Hemi 4x4Hemi is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 1,439
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500 4x4 Hemi
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:172
4x4Hemi has a spectacular aura about4x4Hemi has a spectacular aura about
Default

Id love to know this as well!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2012, 03:48 PM
Ramajama's Avatar
Ramajama Ramajama is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: In a house
Posts: 389
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 R/T
Trim Level: R/T Sport
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:24
Ramajama is on a distinguished road
Default

I know the "basic cluster" has a 4 pin hookup. The EVIC cluster obviously has more...I'd just like to know if the extra wire connectors are already behind the cluster ready to plug in. I'm betting it is, I just wonder if anyone knows for sure. I dont wanna tear it all apart just to check LOL!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2012, 05:24 PM
glitzbd glitzbd is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 59
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
glitzbd is on a distinguished road
Default Yes you can!

You are able to, but the mileage seems to stick on the EVIC this thread has some good information on it! Miles stay the same as the truck it was pulled from, and you had to splice some wires iirc also it seems you will need some sales codes added, and the compass is located in the overhead console (that our Express trucks don't have - or at least mine does not)!

The guy found someone to reset his mileage etc but it would seem not all of us will have that luxury!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2012, 05:36 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,384
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

dont forget the steering wheel.

it can be done though.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:14 PM
GTyankee's Avatar
GTyankee GTyankee is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego East County, Ca
Posts: 18,839
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 2X4
Trim Level: quad cab SLT
Color: sunburst orange pearl
Rep Power: 19
Rep:2615
GTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond reputeGTyankee has a reputation beyond repute
Default

IF you had bought the OEM Brake Controller when the Express was originally sold, you would have the full EVIC, but you may have already known that

If you take the full EVIC out of a damaged Ram Express, write down the VIN# of the donor vehicle, i think you need the Vin # of a Ram Express that already has the full EVIC, so they can FLASH your vehicle to make everything function correctly, it gives the Ram Tech a place to look in the STARSCAN tool software, for the proper flash

On my Ram, the compass is in the full EVIC, you can see it next to the temperature readout

__________________
Ram 1500 SLT Quad cab, 5.7 HEMI(R) MDS VCT, 5 speed auto 545RFE, 3.55 differential gears, 18" Magnaflow muffler, EGR bug deflector, Bushwacker fender flares, customized Nfab nerf bars, CB radio, Autonet wi-fi router, custom soft tonneau cover, Line_X bedliner, DEBO Step, build date 10/15/08 a Wednesday built vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:22 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,384
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

GT, I think what they were referring to is that the compass "sensor" or whatever is in the overhead console. So without that the EVIC doesn't display the compass.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:24 PM
Ramajama's Avatar
Ramajama Ramajama is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: In a house
Posts: 389
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 R/T
Trim Level: R/T Sport
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:24
Ramajama is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks a bunch guys! I think I can pull this off without a great deal of trouble or $$ BUT....the fact that you cant set the milage back to your true milage may kill this mod for me.
I dont want untrue milage on my truck.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:47 PM
snrusnak's Avatar
snrusnak snrusnak is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orlando
Age: 27
Posts: 13,384
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: SLT
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 12
Rep:1385
snrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud ofsnrusnak has much to be proud of
Default

^you'll just have to pay someone to fix that. There are people/company's certified to do that. I do believe it's expensive.
__________________
Sean

Breathing in and out is good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:08 PM
Ramajama's Avatar
Ramajama Ramajama is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: In a house
Posts: 389
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2014 RAM 1500 R/T
Trim Level: R/T Sport
Color: Silver
Rep Power: 0
Rep:24
Ramajama is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snrusnak View Post
^you'll just have to pay someone to fix that. There are people/company's certified to do that. I do believe it's expensive.
Grrrrrr
I'll check into it a little more, but I may pass on this one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum