DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > Dodge Ram General Discussion
Register Advertising Gallery FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Notices

Dodge Ram General Discussion General Chat about the Ram. Please look for other categories to post specific questions in.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03-02-2014, 11:35 AM
sjay08's Avatar
sjay08 sjay08 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: toronto
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 ram
Trim Level: base
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
sjay08 is on a distinguished road
Default Has anyone ever figured out the Hood Ajar Remote Start Issue?

As the title states,

has anyone found the fix/repair/solution? I see countless threads of people discussing that the sensor is in the latch (2010+) but nobody ever discusses how they resolved the issue. Anyone?

I bought my truck 2 days ago, so far its amazing, But I would love to use the remote start as the Canadian winter this year is
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-02-2014, 12:39 PM
noclass's Avatar
noclass noclass is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Wyo
Posts: 107
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 13 1500
Trim Level: Express
Color: True blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
noclass is on a distinguished road
Default

A new latch comes with the mopar kit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2014, 10:51 AM
Patriot0311 Patriot0311 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: Big Horn
Color: Silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Patriot0311 is on a distinguished road
Default

Did you install the kit yourself, or did it come on your vehicle from the factory, or did a dealer install it?

Like noclass said, there is a replacement hood latch with a built-in switch and wiring in the kit that gets wired back to the TIPM. (My truck was actually pre-wired, so all I had to do was install the new latch and plug in the connector).

Jake
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2014, 02:59 PM
sjay08's Avatar
sjay08 sjay08 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: toronto
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 ram
Trim Level: base
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
sjay08 is on a distinguished road
Default

my truck has factory remote start, but it hasnt worked since I purchased it. Is there a link to the latch. I think i may just need to install a new latch.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:08 PM
hemi4452's Avatar
hemi4452 hemi4452 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: New York
Age: 46
Posts: 548
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 ram crew cab sport
Trim Level: sport
Color: True blue pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:69
hemi4452 will become famous soon enough
Default

Didnt know of any issue. Mine came on my 2013. I know if I open the hood durring the remote start the truck shuts down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2014, 05:20 PM
Sideshow48 Sideshow48 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Age: 49
Posts: 120
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Copperhead Pearl
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 2
Rep:136
Sideshow48 will become famous soon enoughSideshow48 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjay08 View Post
As the title states,

has anyone found the fix/repair/solution? I see countless threads of people discussing that the sensor is in the latch (2010+) but nobody ever discusses how they resolved the issue. Anyone?

I bought my truck 2 days ago, so far its amazing, But I would love to use the remote start as the Canadian winter this year is
Pretty sure it's just one more built in safety feature. Not sure why you can't use the remote start as is...simply ensure the hood is properly latched.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2014, 05:48 PM
Pnm1113 Pnm1113 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New York
Age: 41
Posts: 67
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2009 ram 1500 5.7 hemi
Trim Level: Slt quad cab
Color: Blue
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Pnm1113 is on a distinguished road
Default

When I picked up my 09 had the same problem. On mine there is a hood pin to press the pin down. Took 2 dealers to figure out what that plastic piece was called. Finally got it popped it right in. Started right up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-07-2014, 11:08 AM
sjay08's Avatar
sjay08 sjay08 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: toronto
Posts: 12
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 ram
Trim Level: base
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
sjay08 is on a distinguished road
Default

still havent found a solution. The stupid hood ajar sensor is within the Latch NOT a plunger like 2009 models.

Any way to bypass or fix?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2014, 08:40 PM
mbarclay mbarclay is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Waddington, New York
Age: 28
Posts: 80
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 7
Rep:76
mbarclay will become famous soon enough
Default

My 2012 does it on occasion didn't know it was a common problem
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-16-2014, 12:16 AM
Omac's Avatar
Omac Omac is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boston
Age: 36
Posts: 377
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2013 RAM 1500
Trim Level: Laramie
Color: Black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:29
Omac is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sjay08 View Post
still havent found a solution. The stupid hood ajar sensor is within the Latch NOT a plunger like 2009 models.

Any way to bypass or fix?
Just as a way to test if that is the problem. Unplug the wire to the latch and jump it with a piece of wire see if it starts. If it is then replace the latch.
__________________
Mopar Hood Deflector, Mopar Mud Flaps Front/Rear, Fire/Ice Mud Flap LEDs, Tonno Bed Cover, Mopar Bed Mat, Mopar Tailgate Liner,Window Tint, Husky WeatherBeater Floor Liner Front/Rear, Mopar Chrome Gas Door
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors