DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - General Discussion > 2011 Dodge Ram Forum


Notices

2011 Dodge Ram Forum For specific discussion of the 2011 Dodge Ram!


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-15-2011, 07:01 PM
riggz riggz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 273
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
riggz is on a distinguished road
Question Remote Start Install Problem

So I purchased kit 82212424AB from an eBay seller (CDJ dealer who sells parts on eBay). I read the instructions a couple times and made sure I understood what was needed. I swapped out the hood latch with the new one that had the switch already in it. There was a plug in the factory harness right at the latch so I plugged that in (just like the instructions tell you to do.) I then installed the antenna module behind the glove box and ran the wire over to the ignition module. That's where I stopped and scheduled an appointment at the dealer to install the WIN (Wireless Ignition Node), flash the computer and program/reprogram my keys. The service advisor stated it would be an $85 charge.

This morning I arrived at the dealer at 9:00am (my appt. time) and informed them again what I needed done, what I had already done, and that I would be waiting on it. I even write on the instructions what I had already installed. After 20 minutes the service advisor informs me that they don't have any bays to put my truck in and it would be a couple hours before they could get to my truck. (Really? Why did I even bother making an appointment?) He had an employee give me a ride home and said they would come back to pick me up when it was ready in about 3 hours.

Around 1:00pm the service advisor calls and says the technician working on my truck can not get the remote start to work. He followed the steps exactly and did it twice but it wouldn't take. He said he could have his tech try to troubleshoot the work that I did, however that would be at my cost. I informed him that there was no way anything I did would be wrong since the antenna is just mounted behind the glove box and the hood latch has a switch already installed and all I did was plug it in. Those were pretty easy to confirm. I asked him if the service tech read the part where you have to input the remote start code into the WiTech about 30 minutes PRIOR to installing the WIN and flashing the computer, because if you fail to do this it will render the WIN useless. He stated the tech did this correctly.

At 4:45pm the service advisor called me back and stated that the tech has traced it down to a wire that goes in to the back of the TIPM and the tech has to pull the TIPM out to check it. That would push it in to tomorrow so he offered a rental car. I said ok.


My question is this: What other reason would the system not work? It sounds like they are looking in the direction of the hood switch not reading properly. I don't see how the hood switch wouldn't work unless the plug I used was for something else or the wires were not connected at the factory. I believe they screwed up and installed the WIN before adding it to the WiTech. Any input is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 11-16-2011, 07:07 AM
riggz riggz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 273
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
riggz is on a distinguished road
Default

Well if I do that and they fried the WIN then I would be stuck in the same position.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2011, 09:26 AM
riggz riggz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 273
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
riggz is on a distinguished road
Default

Just got the truck back. They stated it was a software glitch that was not correctly reprogramming the WIN. Had to contact Chrysler to get the correct update.

So if anyone runs in to the same situation make sure the dealer knows there might be an issue with the software programming of the WIN.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2011, 02:56 PM
wbowyer wbowyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: ST
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
wbowyer will become famous soon enough
Default

I've had no issues with my Viper remote start...even the geniuses at Best Buy were able to install it without any hiccups! And I have feedback on the remote (beeps and led's to indicate lock position, temperature in the cab, start timer, and defroster) and a range of 2000 feet (tested and confirmed). If you have the option between the Mopar remote and the Viper I would highly recommend the Viper.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2011, 04:51 PM
yodahog's Avatar
yodahog yodahog is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Conway, AR
Age: 32
Posts: 59
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram
Trim Level: 4x4 CrewCab Sport
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2009-???? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:21
yodahog is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wbowyer View Post
I've had no issues with my Viper remote start...even the geniuses at Best Buy were able to install it without any hiccups! And I have feedback on the remote (beeps and led's to indicate lock position, temperature in the cab, start timer, and defroster) and a range of 2000 feet (tested and confirmed). If you have the option between the Mopar remote and the Viper I would highly recommend the Viper.
What was the cost of this, including installation?

Also what are the fees for installing the app on say an iPhone?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2011, 05:30 PM
wbowyer wbowyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 25
Posts: 355
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: ST
Color: Inferno Red
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:71
wbowyer will become famous soon enough
Default

Cost was around $300 (all parts and labor included, along with a warranty). I believe the app doesn't actually cost anything, but the module has to be able to accept the "SmartStart" capability. I elected to go with a remote and not the "SmartStart" because I am often on the phone for business and wanted to be able to get her cranked up and either cooled off or warmed up.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Viper+-+...&skuId=9347815
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-17-2011, 02:08 AM
riggz riggz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 273
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
riggz is on a distinguished road
Default

I had a Viper Smart Start alarm system on my Infiniti. You can still use a remote with the smart phone app. It was great, but it didn't turn on my heated seats in the cold weather and vent seats in the hot weather. You also have to pay an annual subscription fee. The OEM remote start supposedly does this. Plus It's one less key fob I have to carry. (I only carry the truck fob and 1 house key)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2012, 06:18 PM
shaneserle1989 shaneserle1989 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: edmonton ab
Age: 25
Posts: 26
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 outdoorsman
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: white/silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
shaneserle1989 is on a distinguished road
Default

i can't for the life of me figure out were the win antenna module plugs in or goes behind the glove box? any tips? i can't find anywhere to connect that antenna wire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2012, 07:11 PM
riggz riggz is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Member

 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 273
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 Dodge Ram 1500
Trim Level: Sport
Color: Black
Rep Power: 0
Rep:11
riggz is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaneserle1989 View Post
i can't for the life of me figure out were the win antenna module plugs in or goes behind the glove box? any tips? i can't find anywhere to connect that antenna wire
It plugs into the WIN (the box where you put the fob.) The antenna end snaps in to something way up behind the glove box by the windshield.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2012, 09:13 PM
shaneserle1989 shaneserle1989 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: edmonton ab
Age: 25
Posts: 26
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2011 ram 1500 outdoorsman
Trim Level: outdoorsman
Color: white/silver
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
shaneserle1989 is on a distinguished road
Default

are you serious now i gotta go do it hahaha been makin me so mad trying to figure that out

thanks a bunch
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum