DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Help Zone - Dodge Ram Problems, Complaints, & Solutions - Maintenance & Re > 1ST Generation Dodge Ram 1993 & Older Dodge Ram Trucks > Electrical


Notices

Electrical 1st Gen Dodge Ram Electrical Problems and Questions.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-03-2012, 11:12 AM
jscar305 jscar305 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Newcomer
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1989 Ram 100
Trim Level: Rust
Color: Blue
Engine: 1988-1991 318ci (5.2L) LA V8 140hp
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
jscar305 is on a distinguished road
Default 89 Dodge 100 HELP!

I have high beams but no low beams. Switch is on the column. Whats my problem?

Also..is the fuel sender a stand alone device or is it integrated with an in tank fuel pump?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-03-2012, 07:50 PM
ShawnC13's Avatar
ShawnC13 ShawnC13 is offline
Team Bully


 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Age: 41
Posts: 26,000
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2008 Dodge Ram 1500 QC TRX4
Trim Level: SXT
Color: Flame Red
Engine: 2003-2008 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 345hp 375lb/ft
Rep Power: 19
Rep:1713
ShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant futureShawnC13 has a brilliant future
Default

Welcome joining here is a great decision for any RAM owner so much knowledge and information here!

Here are some how to threads to some common questions

How to upload pictures to your gallery

How to insert image in post
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2012, 02:06 AM
RadioFlyer's Avatar
RadioFlyer RadioFlyer is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 60
Posts: 946
Gender: Male
Rep Power: 6
Rep:146
RadioFlyer will become famous soon enoughRadioFlyer will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscar305 View Post
I have high beams but no low beams. Switch is on the column. Whats my problem?

Also..is the fuel sender a stand alone device or is it integrated with an in tank fuel pump?

Thanks
You need to check the voltage (pull the bulb and check the plug) to see if ur getting 12 volts with the low beams on. If the high beams are working you're getting 12 volts to them...hope that makes sense. If you are getting 12 volts with the low beams on, the switch is good and the bulbs are defective. If not the switch is bad, and check both sides. (i think, lol) I'm not sure about the fuel sender but they're usually in the tank and pita to change. Forgot, check your fuel sender wiring under the truck and behind the instrument panel and make sure all is connected.

Last edited by RadioFlyer; 12-05-2012 at 02:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:29 AM
Warlock III's Avatar
Warlock III Warlock III is offline
Paultocologist
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Area 51.5
Posts: 7,119
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 1995 Ram 1500
Trim Level: Cloaking
Engine: 1994-2001 318ci (5.2L) Magnum V8 220hp
Rep Power: 11
Rep:1734
Warlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant futureWarlock III has a brilliant future
Send a message via AIM to Warlock III Send a message via Yahoo to Warlock III
Default

^Like stated^ check the power at the plug on the back of the headlight. You'll have one negative and two positive with the high beams on. Low beams would be one neg and one pos (two outer vertical prongs). If all is well there check the ground, even if you have to run a jumper from the socket to the ground (with just the low beams on) Chrysler in their infinite wisdom sometimes has unique problems and the low beam wire will act as a ground and make the high-beams work. Again...if all is well there. Check the switch on the column. Especially if it's been sitting.

On the 89 D100 I'm pretty sure you still have the mechanical pump (D100=6cyl?) bolted to the block...so I guess it could/would be considered a "stand alone" pump...kinda like me at family gatherings...waaaay alone.

If it is the mechanical pump it's a relatively straight forward swap and probably sells new for under $30.
__________________
Rated "D" for disturbing. Some images and language may be disturbing for some members. Crude language, sarcasm and images throughout. Not intended for all viewers

DISCLAIMER
If you are offended easily don't click on my screen name

Last edited by Warlock III; 12-05-2012 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum