DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum

Go Back   DODGE RAM FORUM - Ram Forums and Owners Club! - Dodge Truck Forum > Dodge Ram Forum - Mod Zone - Custom Dodge Ram Mods - Dodge Ram Performance > Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video


Notices

Custom Dodge Ram Interior Modifications - Custom Audio / Video All custom mods on the interior of your Dodge Ram. Dodge Ram stereo mods, alarms, electronics, shift knobs, upholstery, etc.


Latest Vendor News
AutoAnything
Addictive Desert Designs!
United Radio
Bayou Goat Mounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-14-2012, 12:29 PM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 219
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default About to add an amp questions...(OEM HU)

I've got just about everything I need for the install. Just a few questions: To PAC or not? My amp has High Level inputs. Where to tap into the rear spkrs? If I use a PAC, wont I need to tap into both L/R spkrs? I'd like to get a clean sweep or something like that but it's 2 weeks before Christmas and I've been itching to get the system in. Any all help/recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Help me get this system in!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 12-15-2012, 06:39 PM
Taylor15835's Avatar
Taylor15835 Taylor15835 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: florida
Age: 21
Posts: 76
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 ram 1500 sport
Trim Level: sport
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Taylor15835 is on a distinguished road
Default

I installed a JL in the rear in place of the stock sub. I used a PAC an tapped into the rear right speaker, most places like best buy or speaker places recommend the rear left, i asked why and they said idk just something that most people do... PAC only taps to one speaker the wires an be found on either side running through the tower where you seat belt is and then into the door.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2012, 12:14 PM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 219
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default

^wouldnt only tapping into one side only give you a L or R signal?^ Thanks for the heads up on the wire location! One more question, where to tap into to for the Remote/acc?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2012, 04:10 PM
kkreit01 kkreit01 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 473
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC 4x4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Sagebrush
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:87
kkreit01 will become famous soon enough
Default

PAC or LOC? When I think of PAC, I'm thinking $100+ adaptor/harness that plugs behind your OE HU to give you RCA outs (PAC C2A-CHY23). For a Line Output Converter ($10+), you'd have to find some speaker level inputs to tap into, and run a remote turn-on. I would think you'd need at least a right and left set. I've always used both. I've never had good luck with speaker-level inputs on amps, but that was many years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-18-2012, 11:13 AM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 219
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, a LOC. The one I was looking at is made by PAC. Sorry for the confusion. My amp does have the speaker level inputs but I am going to avoid that route. Where is everyone tapping in for the rem/acc?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-19-2012, 08:31 PM
Jolley's Avatar
Jolley Jolley is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pelahatchie, MS
Age: 18
Posts: 95
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 Dodge Ram 1500 Laramie
Color: Tan Pearlcoat
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:33
Jolley is on a distinguished road
Default

yea i need to know where to tap into for the remote as well
__________________
10' Laramie/35 Mud Grapps/Wheel Spacers/Level/Straights w/ 4" tips/8K HIDs/Bull Bar/22" Led Bar
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-19-2012, 10:00 PM
Taylor15835's Avatar
Taylor15835 Taylor15835 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: florida
Age: 21
Posts: 76
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2010 ram 1500 sport
Trim Level: sport
Color: black
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:10
Taylor15835 is on a distinguished road
Default

if you use fade r or l thats the only time the signal would be different for the rear and as far as a remote wire, i had trouble finding one so i went to the front fuse box and tapped into one of the ignition/key wires, you can use a wire tester to find a fuse that is only on when the truck is running.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-20-2012, 05:04 PM
kkreit01 kkreit01 is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 473
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC 4x4
Trim Level: Outdoorsman
Color: Sagebrush
Engine: 2009-20?? 345ci (5.7L) Hemi V8 390hp 407lb/ft
Rep Power: 3
Rep:87
kkreit01 will become famous soon enough
Default

I had a hard time finding an accessory tap when I hard-wired my radar detector. I finally found +12V on the smallest brake controller harness. The harness may be there even if you don't have the brake controller. I had lots of empty harness plugs under my dash. The cig lighter is also keyed. You could tap into it for the REM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-21-2012, 11:24 AM
Jon3sgte Jon3sgte is offline
Dodge Ram Forum Senior Member!
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 219
Gender: Male
Vehicle: 2012 Ram CC
Trim Level: Tradesman
Color: White
Engine: 2008-20?? 287ci (4.7L) PowerTech V8 310hp 330lb/ft
Rep Power: 0
Rep:30
Jon3sgte is on a distinguished road
Default

^Thanks for the replies^ Hopefully I can get the system in this weekend.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Advertisement






All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.


= Copyright RamForumZ.com a Gigathreads.com Network Site =Ad Management by RedTyger
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vB.Sponsors


=Gigathreads Network=
CLUBS MOPAR NATION DSM GPMM MAMM JAM
DIESEL Diesel Forum      
CHEVY Chevy Camaro Forum Chevy Volt Forum    
CHRYSLER Chrysler 300C Forum      
DODGE Dodge Avenger Forum Dodge Caliber Forum Dodge Challenger Forum Dodge Charger Forum
  Dodge Circuit Forum Dodge Hornet Forum Dodge Magnum Forum Dodge Nitro Forum
  Dodge Ram Forum Dodge Dakota Forum Dodge Durango Forum Dodge Dart Forum
FORD Ford Raptor Forum Ford F150 Forum Ford F100 Forum  
JEEP Jeep Forum      
PONTIAC Pontiac G8 Forum      
SRT SRT Viper Forum SRT Cuda Forum